We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without compare, and fabulous breakfasts, too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
9351 E. Morrill Way, Tucson, AZ 85749   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$20 off Guest Houses
Ranked #1 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
St. Louis
1 review
“Without compare, and fabulous breakfasts, too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

Every comfort - simpatico people - wonderful, gifted, organized & affectionate owners!
Dennis & Christine spoiled us, pampered us, and made us feel so at home. We truly did relax. Breakfasts - conversation - WOW! We will return. How do we say enough about our stay? We could say the usual things - about the beautifully thought-out guest house, comfort, ease, luxury, fabulous food, new faces, old friends. Those things are all wonderfully true, but there is something more to mention. Here, there is serenity, quiet, acceptance, a love of life, and hosts who demonstrate each day, their belief in the honor and sacredness of serving others. We feel a deep gratitude to Dennis & Christine.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
266
18
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

This was my fourth trip to Azure Gate and I was happy to find the experience up to it's initial standards - a quiet get-away in a senic setting, great breakfasts, adaptive service, and always interesting fellow guests. Dennis and Christine can be counted on to help in planning activities and insuring that your stay is stress free.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Our first trip to Azure Gate was in Feb 2007. This was our first trip to Tucson, the Gem Show and Azure Gate. Tucson was an incredible place to visit, the Gem Show was a amazing, but Azure Gate was the true gem that we discovered. We stayed in the Sana Ana guest house. I love this space. Close to the main house, but a little cottage all to itself. It has a great private patio, perfect for morning coffee or an evening glass of wine. Dennis and Christine are very, very special people. Their breakfasts are some of the best food we've eaten, ANYWHERE! Our first breakfast started with mixture of fresh berries in a lime/maple syrup sauce. Then came the omlete with Blue Crab, avocado and cream cheese. After spending nearly a week at Azure Gate, we knew we would need to return.

Our next trip was in Oct 2008. We had become birders, at this point in our lives. Dennis is incredibly knowledgeable on the area wildlife and was so helpful in guiding us to the local birding hot spots. We had a fabulous time. There were new foods to experience at Azure Gate, as well. My favorite from that visit was Dennis' Huevos Rancheros. Lovely, scrumptious and beautiful! And oh, the birds we saw . . . The raptors were out in force in the Azure Gate neighborhood. We would get up early and walk the neighborhood for over an hour before breakfast. What a great way to start the morning. We had our first visits to Madera Canyon, Fort Huachuca, Sweetwater Wetlands and more. We added quite a few birds to our lifelists. At the end of this visit, we made reservations to return in the spring, hoping to see the wildflowers and cacti blooming as well as the spring migration.

On our third visit, it was beginning to feel like visiting old friends or family. We loved chatting with Dennis and Christine as they prepared our meals. Our first morning at Azure Gate, for this visit, we spotted a little gray bird with a yellow head, in a Palo Verde tree. A quick description and a peek a our photos, Dennis determined that it was a Verdin. We would later see this darling little bird in various places in the Tucson area. What a sweet little bird. This trip eventually turned into the trip to find the Elegant Trogon. Dennis had some incredible photos in his collection. We finally found one in the Cave Creek area.

On this visit, my favorite meal and perhaps my all time favorite meal was Dennis' Thai breakfast. Dennis marinated a beef filet in teriyaki sauce and fruit overnight. It was grilled that morning, served with a fried rice mound in the center of the plate. The slices of beef surrounded the rice and around the circumference of the plate was sliced cucumber with a ginger/soy sauce. This was all topped with a fried egg. See last photo uploaded. This was absolutely divine!

We have stayed in the Santa Ana guest house on all three visits. It is a very comfortable, yet cozy space. The grounds of Azure Gate are a Sonoran desert botanical garden. You never know what wildlife will show up. It is always a surprise. We love this place and will return next spring in April of 2010. We hope to continue to return to Azure Gate to see the wonders that the Tucson area has to share and to visit our dear friends, Dennis and Christine.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

The Azure Gate:
Experiences: Sunsets of azure and crimson rimmed by Catalina chiaroscuro...
Hiking in Sabino Canyon and Cochise Stronghold---awe-inspiring spaces.

Hosts: Artist and photographer...Author and Chef...Parents and grandparents. We thank Christine and Dennis for their warmth, their perspicacity, their ability to make their guests feel like honored family!

P.S. "little things mean a lot..." gauzy ribons around the vanilla soap...trailmix in the kitchen for hikers and sun readers alike...roses...coffee beans for fresh coffee to sip while sitting on the Santa Ana Guesthouse's patio.
Jean and Bill


Azure Gate is truly a desert oasis. After a winter on the Maine coast, this is a western Garden of Eden. We are sure that better breakfasts are not available anywhere else on this planet. Azure Gate is a feast for the palate, the mind, and the soul. We'll be back to revel in the wonderful hospitality...again and again and again!
Bill and Jean

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We so look forward to returning to Azure Gate this winter. There is a positive aura that infuses the inn and its surroundings, put forth by the owners Dennis and Christine Widman. The breakfasts are bountiful and absolutely delicious. The help that Dennis and Christine will give you for your daily activities is professional and interesting, along with driving instructions and comments about each place you might want to visit. The vast film library makes it possible to relax after a long day of sightseeing and the wonderful home baked goodies available each afternoon add to the sweetness of your stay. I'm ready to pack, just remembering all the good times we have shared and would encourage anyone wanting to stay in the Tucson area, to make Azure Gate your headquarters.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

2.23.07 - This place is the best! Having never been to the Southwest before, we feel blessed to have stumbled upon this haven. We've loved every minute of it and have talked of nothing else but when we can return! We are grateful to Dennis & Christine for sharing ---everything ---their stories, their talents, their home. We'll be back!
Anne & Bob Coffey Branford. CT

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Bay Area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

I have spent several annual trips to the Tucson Gem and Jewelry Show at the Azure Gate B&B. Not only is it convenient to get to downtown, it is an outstanding place to stay and out in a more natural setting without city noise! Then lets talk about the actual B&B. I have never had the breakfast, like the breakfast that Dennis and Christine prepare. In the frequent times I have stayed at the Azure Gate, it never ceases to amaze me the consistency and outstanding quality of service I receive. I feel like I am visiting good friends when I return, and they make me feel so at home. I have stayed at other locations when I could not get a reservation and always wished I was there! Dennis and Christine, Thanks for providing such a unique and memorable visit - every time. I look forward to seeing you soon! Julie Wuest

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9351 E. Morrill Way, Tucson, AZ 85749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 magical acres of desert botanical garden ambiance; two guest houses with kitchens; plus two guest rooms in the main house offer a range in pricing as well as length of stay; enjoy the library, chess room, living room, and outdoor oasis; walk through 10 Azure Gates designed by artist Simon Donovan; Come here to relax and enjoy the peace, beauty, and spirit of nature that is The Azure Gate. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list