We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer comfort and a warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
9351 E. Morrill Way, Tucson, AZ 85749   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$20 off Guest Houses
Ranked #1 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Sheer comfort and a warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the time we arrived until we left, we were welcomed like family. Our bed and linens were “super comfy” Breakfast was five star and our hosts Dennis and Christine made us feel like nothing was a bother. The robes in the room are so luxurious that I took a photo of the label and came home and ordered two.
After being on our Harley it was nice to take a dip in their pool. We enjoyed The Tucson Studio; we bought groceries at a grocery store nearby and ate pool side with a bottle of wine. It was a day and an evening to remember.
Thanks Christine and Dennis!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
268
18
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Dennis and Christine are delightful hosts and our Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast experience was fabulous! I don't think they could have made it any better. Christine is a fact finder and has tons of information available to guest of area attractions. Dennis is an accomplished chef and cooks the most delicious breakfasts. We felt very welcome in their lovely, clean and well appointed home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We found Azure Gate in 2007 and have returned every year since. Dennis and Christine are delightful hosts and have become dear friends. They are extremely knowledgeable of the area and can assist you in your daily travels. The guest houses and and grounds are beautiful. Azure Gate is close to the Saguaro Nat'l Park (east), Mt Lemmon and Sabino Canyon. Dennis and Christine's breakfasts are beautiful to look at and so delicious.

Room Tip: We first rented the Santa Ana Guest House, but now have fallen in love with the Catalina House. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We both agreed that the breakfast Dennis prepared for us each morning out on the patio was the best we have had at a B&B anywhere. Our room was extremely comfortable and It was so nice waking up to nothing but the sounds of the birds. Christine had everything you could possibly want in the way of travel and restaurant info. There was always coffee, tea, fruit, water, sodas and those irresistible chocolate covered almonds available. The property is close to everything Tucson has to offer. We would never consider staying anyplace else in Tucson.

Room Tip: For lots of privacy choose the room with the bed in the loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We'd booked to stay at the Azure Gate for two nights at the start of our week driving around Arizona. But after one night, we knew we wanted to stay for longer! Fortunately Christine and Dennis were able to let us stay one extra night so we were lucky enough to enjoy this desert oasis for longer.

As fairly quiet people, we were a little hesitant at first about the 'all sit round the breakfast table' start to the day. Normally that's our worst nightmare - having to talk to strangers before the first cup of coffee of the day!!! But we need not have worried. The other guests were fascinating and we made some firm friends as we shared Dennis's amazing gourmet breakfasts.

Such kind hosts. - it felt more like staying at an. Old friends home than a b&b. the room and communal space were comfy and stylish with some beautiful touches such as the hand glazed tiles I n the bathroom. And Christine's amazing table decoration was a joy to see each day.

We spent some happy time mooching around the grounds - spotting birds and photographic the flora. The cacti were in bloom so it was gorgeous.

We are already a planning our return!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My one night visit to Azure Gate B&B was too short! The proprietors make every effort to make your stay comfortable and personally tailored to your tastes and interests - all without being fussy or intrusive. They provide heaps of easy to use resources on local events, restaurants, and activities. A really lovely and serene desert garden with naturalistic landscaping is enlivened by a variety of wildlife drawn to fountains, feeders, and plantings. I especially enjoyed my nighttime swim after a very long drive, and the tasty breakfast offerings were delicious and memorable. Dennis and Christine obviously put their heart and soul into this operation, and it shows. I hope to stay at Azure Gate again and take full advantage of the great location, calming vibe, and very kind hospitality

Room Tip: Rooms are available in both the main house and in separate bungalow type setting. I opted for a mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesilla, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

thanks to tripadvisor and the great reviews this B&B received we made a reservation for a stay on our way back from California to New Mexico...we highly recommend staying here if you are in Tucson...really enjoyed walking the grounds around the Azure Gate...superb accommodations and best of all - The Breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9351 E. Morrill Way, Tucson, AZ 85749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 magical acres of desert botanical garden ambiance; two guest houses with kitchens; plus two guest rooms in the main house offer a range in pricing as well as length of stay; enjoy the library, chess room, living room, and outdoor oasis; walk through 10 Azure Gates designed by artist Simon Donovan; Come here to relax and enjoy the peace, beauty, and spirit of nature that is The Azure Gate. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list