We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reliable, friendly, charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cody's Beef'n Beans

Cody's Beef'n Beans
2708 E Fort Lowell Rd, Tucson, AZ 85716
520-322-9475
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #209 of 1,690 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“reliable, friendly, charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We live near Cody's and it's our go-to steakhouse. The food isn't gourmet but it's good quality and very reasonably priced. The reason I love the place, though, is the service. I've never had a bad experience and I wish all servers were as professional as these ladies (so far no male servers). Because both the service and food are so consistent, I give it a 5-star rating, although it's not the best steak in town. It's a good value, and you are treated well. The other quality I like is that you feel like your in a time-warp, but in a good way. It's quiet in there, and it's filled with families and old couples and regulars - a real variety of people (caucasian people, mostly, but still...). The decor is unpretentious and so is the menu. Plus, you can get your drink served in the wonderful glass cowboy boot!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our El Corral family has switched to Cody's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our El Corral family has switched to Cody's
My family is from Tucson. We used to frequent Pinnacle Peak and El Corral when we were in the mood for a good steak or when we had out of town visitors. In the past few years, the quality of the steaks at both restaurants has declined. Lately, we find ourselves leaving them feeling disappointed about our meals.

As an alternative, someone suggested Cody’s Beef and Beans. Word of mouth is the best advertising.

Although it has no Trail Dust Town or view of the city, Cody’s concentrates on one thing, delicious food. It is a great place to bring the family for T-Bones or have a tender steak sandwich for lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Last Minute Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stopped here on a whim and it was one of the best meals we had on our trip. The twelve ounce steak had to weigh a pound, and the sides were enough for two meals. Steaks were cooked to order, it appears to be in an old store, and decor is a little dated, but the food makes up for it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Steak and Salmon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I recently stopped in for early dinner. She having Grilled Salmon and I, Rib Eye Steak. Service was good. Beer was cold. Atmosphere was clean and comfortable, in the room we were seated. Salad was fresh and crisp. Portions were generous. Grilled Salmon was over cooked. Rib eye was toughest I've ever had (for rib eye). Beans and steamed veggies were nothing to brag about. All and all everything was not bad and we may return. But it will not be at the top of our list.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Wheres the beef?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I recently visited Codys and came away disappointed. My steak (a filet) was overcooked and dry. The baked potato accompanying it was old and soggy. I've never had such a bad baked potato in any restaurant! My husband had bbq chicken. The chicken was tender but the sauce was non-descript. He also tried the "famous beans", uh! The service was ok, except for the loud personal conversation the wait staff was having behind the wall. Totally unprofessional!! I wont be going back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's Beef'n Beans also viewed

 

Been to Cody's Beef'n Beans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cody's Beef'n Beans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.