We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Charro - Ventana

El Charro - Ventana
6910 East Sunrise Drive, (520) 514-1922, Tucson, AZ 85750-0830 (Formerly El Charro)
(520) 615-1818
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 1,702 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Tucson
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Some of the El Charro locations are "disappointing", to say the least. However, I stopped by the Sunrise location for lunch with a friend this week and found a great experience. I tried the pork carnitas lunch burrito and received one of the tastiest plates heaping with more food than I could eat. The salsa (with the chips) just snapped with flavor. The waiter even offered an additional to-go soda. Lunch was a great value and I will return for dinner. (Hopefully, the margaritas will be worth the stop also.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    60
    20
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“The Newest Restaurant of an Excellent Small Chain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have been eating at El Charron restaurants for more years than I care to tell! This new addition to the local chain is a gem. We sat outside and even though the view was of a parking lot, tables were set back far enough that you don't feel like you are in traffic. The food was outstanding and the seafood combination was more food than one person could eat.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Want Authentic Mexican Food?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

El Charro is one of the most unique restaurants I have dinned at. The service was great, the food was amazing, and the beer was quite enjoyable. This is one of those restaurants and meals I will compare others to. Not many will be able to match the taste, decor or ambiance.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Carne Seca Is Off The Hook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Their Carne Seca Dinner Plate has always been my favorite until I tried Tia’s Topopo Salad with Carne Seca. First it is easily dinner and lunch the next day but the different flavors are excellent. We also enjoy a cold adult beverage and their half off appetizers during their happy hour. Get the "Tasting Plate" at half off and you won't be disppointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good pricing. . ..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We'll be back. The originators of the chimichanga , , , , you gotta eat one, maybe two. And to top it all off, their outdoor water misters work really well . . ..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Charro - Ventana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Charro - Ventana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.