We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel of a B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Hill Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indian Hill Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Indian Hill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
2955 N. Tomahawk Trail, Tucson, AZ 85749   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
Carson City, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Jewel of a B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our first visit to Indian Hill B&B, which we selected from the AAA book. What a jewel! Paul and Doreen run an amazing bed and breakfast. Our Kokopelli room was wonderfully appointed, clean and bright. We enjoyed Doreen's fabulous breakfasts, and she was a wealth of information about many Arizona landmarks and locales, which gives us a reason to return and experience more of the local flavor. Even though the weather was not conducive to swimming in the lovely pool, we hope we can try it out on a future visit. The B&B setting is removed from the "big city" of Tucson, so the evenings were peaceful, but in less than 15 minutes we were at some very nice restaurants. Kudos to Paul and Doreen!

Room Tip: Kokopelli's room windows face east, which were great for the winter morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

After staying at six Tucson B&B's, our favorite by far is Indian Hill. It's in a serene desert setting in a residential area of northeast Tucson, owned and warmly hosted by genial English ex-pats Doreen and Paul Hedger. Their breakfasts are second to none, set in their beautifully appointed dining room. The guest rooms, decorated in Southwest style, are large and the cleanest we've ever stayed in, and the Tempurpedic beds are an added luxury. The attractive bathrooms feature a colorful tile counter with Talavera pottery accessories. We have stayed in guest rooms Kokopelli, Saguaro and Quail which are all lovely. We look forward to the quiet desert views as well as the desert plantings and colorful pottery in the gardens.

Doreen has become an expert on Southwest lore. They are both happy to provide excellent advice about what to visit, how to get there and where to eat. We love the nearby National Saguaro Park. There is also one on the west side of Tucson. From Indian Hill, we take day trips to Tombstone, Bisbee and Tubac and have visited the Pima Air and Space Museum and the Titan Missile Museum. The Tucson area offers a host of very interesting places to keep one engaged and happy for days.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have visited Indian Hill a couple times over the last 3 years, the last time in Feb 2012. The first thing that you notice when arriving is the sheer tranquility of the place - although not far out of town, it feels miles away. From the native american art to the starry skies at night, from the mountains sometimes w/ snow to the breakfast each morning, from the moment you arrive till the time you depart, you will understand how good life can be. They tempurpedic beds make the start of each day wonderful. Paul & Doreen - cannot say enough about these two, just geniunely kind, good people, knowledgeable on AZ history, helpful (when needed) and good sense of humor. Grab your special someone and get out here - you will be writing 5 stars yourself!

Room Tip: We like Kokopelli as it faces the courtyard and mountains, but really all the rooms are good. My wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit of 4 nights - our room (Kokopelli) was large, immaculate, and lots of nice touches. Because of the hot weather, we really appreciated the complimentary bottled water replenished daily and the pool. The hosts were gracious and knowledgeable about the area and breakfasts were excellent. The only complaint is the bed was very hard but the pillows were nice feather ones. Otherwise, the visit was truly delightful and restful. I could have watched the birds for hours.

Room Tip: Kokopelli had a queen bed (really firm tempurpedic), couch (that makes a twin bed), private entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

My wife and I have stayed several times at Indian Hill. I would like to say it gets better each time, but perfection has neither degrees nor room for improvement. I have read all the reviews and there is not much more to add. Someone commented on the distance to places. We relish in the solitude. The stars and peaceful nights away from the city madness are therapeutic for us. Indian Hill is not only an exceptional place, Paul and Doreen are exceptional people.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several rooms, but Coyote Suite is the most private and spacious. All are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

It is hard to know where to begin; Paul and Doreen have got this 'just right'. The attention to detail throughout, such as complimentary drinks in a silent fridge in the room made staying here an absolute pleasure. The room was much larger than we expected with a lovely bathroom with 'his and her' basins and big, walk-in shower. Paul and Doreen could not have been more pleasant, helpful and knowledgable hosts and we instantly felt at ease in their company. Breakfast, which we chose to eat on the terrace each morning in the company of a host of birds also having theirs from the feeders, was excellent. The garden was beautifully stocked with many different types of cacti and the swimming pool was lovely to come back to at the end of a hot day. Listening to the coyote at night was fun.

The location was great; close to the desert and also close to good restaurants, and, although a previous reviewer has commented that it took an hour to get to most attractions, we would say that is because Tucson is a large city rather than that this accommodation is out of the way.

One attraction that we had recommended by several people locally, was the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, which was a big disappointment. Unless you are a big fan of animals in small enclosures don't waste your time going there. Walking in the Sonoran Desert itself with its 'western' cacti, however,was a world away from our city life at home!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudiksvall, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed for two nights in the Coyote Suite. There is nothing but good things to say about this place. Paul and Doreen made our stay just perfect with there close attention to the smallest detail. We almost feelt "homesick" during our daily activities away from the B&B.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indian Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2955 N. Tomahawk Trail, Tucson, AZ 85749
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for breathtaking panoramic views of the beautiful Catalina and Rincon Mountains, the area surrounding Indian Hill B&B promises to delight and captivate guests. All rooms at Indian Hill B&B feature custom handcrafted furniture, queen beds with Tempur-pedic mattresses, en-suite bathrooms, private patios and entries, individual climate control, satellite TV, silent refrigerators, indoor and outdoor seating areas and many other features and amenities designed to ensure our guests enjoy a comfortable and relaxing stay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Hill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.