We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“landmark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress

Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress
311 E Congress St, Tucson, AZ 85701-1811
(520) 798-1618
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 1,578 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 5th Ave.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“landmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

outstanding food and service AND the best people-watching perch downtown. I love the patio on a nice day, watching the world go by. They often have live music in the courtyard of the Congress Hotel.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Keep your eyes on our patio this summer. Our entertainment department has been lining up acts to enjoy these Tucson summer evenings with DJ's and live music.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    114
    17
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Classic Tucson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a interesting little restaurant in the historical Hotel Congress. They have a small but good menu with a wide variety of dishes including vegetarian. The atmosphere suits the old hotel, and it's a neat stop if you're visiting Tucson. The parking lot for the restaurant is a little small, but there are plenty of other places to park nearby.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
The hotel only has 12 parking spaces, but we're less than one block away from three separate lots and garages, so there's always parking somewhere nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“best pork belly tacos ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Rather than order a more expensive entree, I chose the appetizer tacos, both the fish tacos and the pork belly tacos. Oh my, what an experience. The tortillas are as thin as rice paper and yet hold together well. Delicious. And the service was good, too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Many customers often will order an appetizer for themselves as an entree, and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed both styles of tacos we serve at The Cup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seriously good tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a couple beers and tried both the pork belly and fish tacos....each absolutely delicious. Not sure about the other food but the tacos are worth a visit.... Nice patio/beer garden too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Tucson has a lot of great Mexican restaurants, but we keep hearing from people that our tacos are some of the best in town. One of the perks of having a "New American" menu is we can take the best dishes from all over the world and offer our unique spin on it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Loved the baked egg dish for breakfast, "Queer Steer" veggie burger so delicious and huge!, peanut butter cheesecake light and fluffy, outstanding!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed three of our most popular dishes, including The Baked Eggs, which is by far the most popular. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress also viewed

 

Been to Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.