We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress

Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress
311 E Congress St, Tucson, AZ 85701-1811
(520) 798-1618
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,684 restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 5th Ave.
Green Valley, AZ
2 reviews
“Really good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Really good food with a wide selection of options. The Cup Cafe in the Hotel Congress is my "go to place" to take visitors for a bit of Tucson History.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
One of the reasons we work so hard to keep our place great is knowing how many people from surrounding areas, like yourself in Green Valley, drove all the way up to Tucson with out of town guests to eat here. Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    100
    79
    13
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Tucson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Downtown Tucson is undergoing a renaissance. Seems like a new restaurant opens its doors every week. With all of this activity, don't overlook one of the best in town. Food, service and atmosphere are all authentic Tucson with no pretense. Walk in at 11 am and have your choice of the extensive breakfast and lunch menus, Locally sourced food and beverages are pluses.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
If I may quote you, "...authentic Tucson with no pretense." sums up everything we're about here at The Cup Cafe. We welcome all of the new restaurants that are making Downtown a real eating destination, and are glad to hear we still can go head to head with any new spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have been here many times before and had a great experience, but my last visit was fantastic! I live in Tucson and took my Mom here while she was visiting. We went without a reservation on a Saturday and suprisingly got in! I ordered one of the best meals I have had in a long time-chicken breast stuffed with mushrooms over butternut squash gnocci. My mouth is watering just thinking about it! My husband had the special; steak with blue cheese and carmelized red onions and asparagus. My Mom just had a garden salad but added salmon, which was cooked to perfection. We were too full for dessert, but the case filled with them looked pretty tasty! With this visit, Cup Cafe has earned a place in my favorite Tucson restaurants list!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Everyday we try to do something new with our steak special, and we love hearing you liked that days offering. Thank you for the review and we're thrilled to hear we're now one of your favorite places here in Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good service, nice location, better for breakfast than for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ate there for dinner based on the rave reviews (people said great burgers and fish and chips). We got both and both were just average. We asked how heavy the fish were battered and we were told "lightly" they came medium to heavy battered.

Ate there for breakfast and the coffee, selections, portion size and quality was very good. The bottom line for us was it seems to be better for breakfast/lunch/brunch than for a dinner destination. We stayed at the hotel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and that our breakfasts lived up to the hype, but I am disapointed that our Burger and our Fish & Chips, which are two of our best selling and most popular items, didn't meet your standards. Hopefully next time we'll win you over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What happened?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We've had good experiences at this restaurant in the past but the last two visits were so bad that I had to write about them. First, a family dinner. All the dishes were so badly prepared with such terrible ingredients that it's hard to believe a restaurant would serve them - for example, a steak special that was a tasteless end cut, tough and with lots of gristle, a pork dish was literally a roll of fat, and a salmon dish that was overcooked and floating in some tasteless liquid that was supposed to be a sauce. Add to that the outrageous prices and some obsequious service and you can imagine that this was a memorable evening for the wrong reasons. But because of the favorable experiences in the past we went back thinking that perhaps we had been there on a bad evening. So next it was a family Sunday brunch with young children. The breakfast dishes are fine and when we got service it was also acceptable. Our problem on this occasion was the wait time. We called ahead and were told it would be about a 15 min wait. We arrived 10 min later and were told the wait time was now 30 min. An hour later we were seated and after another 30 min we finally had service. During the hour we waited, the table that we eventually occupied remained empty. Of course, wait times are unpredictable and circumstances (perhaps staff did not arrive?) change. But in retrospect it was discourteous of the restaurant not to warn us about the likely wait times, especially as we were there with young children. In summary, the Cup Cafe cannot be recommended at the moment. I agree with another review that you should avoid any dishes that are more than a basic burger at dinner and it would be worth quizzing the hostess about realistic wait times whenever you visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlen R, Manager at Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
If there is ever a problem, be it quality of food or service, PLEASE ask for a manager. We have an AM and a PM boss with the full authority to correct any and all issues and we are more then happy to do so. It kills me to think you love our place, and had back-to-back lousy visits. The next time you're here, ask for either of us personally and we'll make sure the place lives up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress also viewed

 

Been to Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cup Cafe in Hotel Congress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.