We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi Hama Tames Your Sushi Cravings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Hama

Sushi Hama
3971 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85705-3240
520-888-6763
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,095 of 1,733 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Sushi Hama Tames Your Sushi Cravings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Sushi Hama is a little place with a big selection of sushi and sashimi, and for lunch--perfect portions for the price. Try the "Lunch Box" which has a mix of sushi and tempura pieces. The sushi is very good, with it's own checklist-menu and pictures of the offerings on the special board up front and in the menu itself. I don't ever get past the sushi to other offerings, because it's so hard to find a sushi lunch that fills you up and still comes in under 20 bucks. There's a great bowl of miso and some edamame before your meal too.
The atmosphere is pleasant and warm, and there's always a lunch rush. If that doesn't say what needs to be said about Sushi Hama, well then you're in danger of being picky. And that's no fun, is it?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The one restaurant in Tucson where they know us as "regulars".”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

There may be fancier sushi places in Tucson and there certainly are more expensive ones, but for our taste and budget, Sushi Hama is the spot we always go to. They know us there and we are always treated with friendly, prompt service. I love that as soon as we are seated the server places miso soup, a tiny salad, and edamame beans for snacking. She knows our favorite drinks and brings those as well. We order from the sushi-roll menu and have tried several of the items offered, all have been fresh, nicely prepared, and if not to our tastes, replaced with something else. I have also ordered from the menu once or twice and the portions are quite large. If it's a very busy night there is a wait, and service can slow down, but you can always opt to sit at the sushi bar and watch the chefs prepare the meals. This restaurant appears to attract families, students, and couples, it can get loud and has the best restaurant birthday celebrations.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahuarita, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awsome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We eat here often. Noel is a wonderful Sushi Chef. The Sushi is fresh and nice size portions. Always Friendly staff. I really like to set at the Sushi Bar. Great service! You should try it atlease once.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Lost its touch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Sushi Hama used to be good, excellent in fact. Since they expanded their sushi is tired and dull.. They seem to be catering to the all you can eat crowd where the emphasis is on quantity and to hell with quality.

If all you want is to fill your gullet with cheap, boring fish, this is a good place. If you're looking for fresh fish, cut by a pro and delicately flavored, this is not the place.

When I look around I see people dunking their pieces in massive quantities of soy sauce and wasabi, a sure sign that either they know nothing about sushi or that they'll do anything to add some flavor.

By the way, this is one of those "all you can eat" places where, if you don't finish the plate, they charge you for the extra. Given the ratio of rice to fish, it would be easy to get stuffed here and not finish.

It's sad to see a once decent local place go to hell. There are many other better choices in Tucson.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“ignore bad reviews all wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

After reading some of the negative reviews I was a littlte nervous eathing at Sushi Hama but I was pleasantly surprised. From the moment we were seated we had all the attention we wanted. Upon seating we were given soup, salad and edamame. We ordered iced tea which was always kept full. We had veggie tempura dinner. The dip was outstanding and the assortment of veggies included asparagus and green pepper along with other usual varieties. All outstanding. We ordered a Banzai roll some nigiri hamachi. It came on a boat and looked as good as it tasted. We had a restaurant.com voucher and wanted to fulfill our $35 requirement so I had a spicy tuna handroll and wife had green tea ice-cream. The only disappointment was the ice-cream. It had an off taste. They added in an 18% tip when I got the bill. Total including tip after using voucher was approx $23 for a $48 bill. Would go there again with voucher otherwise a little too ex;pensive.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Hama also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Hama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Hama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.