We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Garlic Grill

Wild Garlic Grill
2230 N 1st Ave, Tucson, AZ
520-206-0017
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 1,702 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Don't be put off by the location of this restaurant, it is quaint and charming inside, and the food is excellent! The back patio is nice, and there is live acoustic music on the weekends! The first time we dined here I had the spaghetti bolognese. This isn't your typical pasta dish with a red sauce: the bolognese had tasty chunks of meat with little red sauce, but it was fantastic! The second time I went I had the pork, which was very rich and tasty, but not as good as the pasta dish. My husband had the salmon, which he loved! The service was excellent as well. The rumor is the owner plans to move to a nicer location once they have a decent following; with food and service like this I don't think it will take very long!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    35
    8
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Hitting its stride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We ate here right after Steve opened his new venture in a very unprepossessing
former drive-up hamburger joint. (April?) The food was great ... but the service scatter-shot.

Went back this week and everything is well under control. Our guests announced the chilean sea bass special "the best" they had ever had. My chicken - a personal test dish at any kitchen - was exquisite. A friend enjoyed the ahi tuna. All were accompanied by excellent selection of fresh vegetables. And all at very reasonable prices for the quality of the food.

And, as opposed to our first visit, the reservation was honored promptly, the service was warm yet efficient and professional, and everything just hummed. And yes, this is Tucson's slow season when "everyone" has left ... but this restaurant was full - and deservedly so.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice new place that needs just a little work to be great..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The food was outstanding... Lots of fun to see all the action in the kitchen when sitting at the bar. I would definitely return. Tom was a fun capable server. Only downside, the flies and dirty silverware. The place has charm, but needs a little spruce up.. Again the food was EXCELLENT..... Great value, we all took a box home...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUCSON
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This Is A Gem of A Restaurant Hidden in Tucson- Must Try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went to this restaurant with some relatives who have raved about it and I'll admit, since the outside was nothing to rave about, we have passed it several times without stopping. That was the first mistake. This restaurant is cozy and charming inside ande the service is top notch. The restaurant was busy on a Friday evening, so I suggest reservations. The wait staff is attentive, friendly, kind and knowledgeable about the specials, of which there are many. The fish was wonderful, as was the steak. And the dishes come out with such beauty. The mussel appetizer and beets with goat cheese were phenomenal. Dillon Davidson waited on us with such charm and zest. He was truly a seasoned waiter. The Chef Steven Schultz worked at Bella Luna and some other fine establishments, so he knows how to prepare a meal to the Tucson public. This restaurant is worth the drive if you are from the north, as we are. Don't let the outside scare you as it was once a simpler establishment. Obviously, the owners aren't wasting the money on the decor outside, but they are using it to make the inside look special and also toward the food prep, which to me is the most important. Wild Garlic Grill has my vote of approval and the prices are reasonable for fresh food of this caliber.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Great food, great prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Delicious sea bass with risotto, perfectly cooked, flavorful new york steak, served with mashed potatoes and yummy vegetables. Good martini, cosmo and fondue. Service was good. Don't let the outside of the restaurant scare you, the inside has a nice, comfortable atmosphere. Great prices. Highly recommended, we can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Garlic Grill also viewed

 

Been to Wild Garlic Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Garlic Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.