We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature's beauty and sounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway

Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway
Tucson, AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 178 Attractions in Tucson
Type: Scenic Drives
Attraction Details
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nature's beauty and sounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Today I didn't want to be in the heat of the desert or hear the landscapers at my apt. So I headed up the mountain. I hiked in the area near Ski Valley. It was so awesome leaving the noise of the city behind. While I was hiking I concentrated on the beauty of life coming back after a major fire many years ago. To see the life of the different insects, birds, etc that now can call this home for them. Sometimes it was so quite you could hear a pin drop. It was so great to be able to refocus. You can see the city in whole another view. God's creation is so beautiful. It was great spending time with him and his creation.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    81
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson Az
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“From the Sonoran Desert to Alpine Mountains!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Short drive from Tucson to the Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway in the Catalina Mountains. Incredible views the whole roadway to the charming village of Summerhaven, going through multiple changes of environments like driving from Tucson to Canada in about an hour! Many activities possible such as hiking, camping, fishing, nature hiking, the Mt. Lemmon Sky Center Observatory, Ski Valley, art and music events in Summerhaven. Many places to park and take photos. Wonderful, wonderful new road. Great place to take visitors, especially in the summer when temps are 20-30 degrees cooler than the desert!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I love Mt.Lemmon! I took the kids up to do a hike up in Summerhaven and was excited to see where I used to go all the time to camp and hike as a kid. I was bummed that the forest is still recovering from the fire but it is coming back. The weather was perfect rain and sun. We drove past the ski resort to the top by the observatory and hiked around. We grabbed lunch in Summerhaven at the sawmill and loved the food. Cant wait to go again such a fun drive!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green valley az.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great mountain views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Many outlooks and a well maintained road. Ski lift at the top is interesting and the view on top is worth the price. Summerhaven is worth a look.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Scenic but curvy need a pass to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice to watch the rode ride up from desert to mountain top and change. Temperature and scenery. Very curvy road that they close often for many reasons. If you stop anywhere along the way before summerhaven (except the one little visitor center) you MUST have a pass or get a ticket. Can't even use the rest facilities.
But it's like $5, so do it! Go up to the ski resort and then hike or drive past it. Very nice

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.