We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Views of Mt. Lemmon Scenic ByWay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway

Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway
Tucson, AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 268 things to do in Tucson
Attraction details
Chandler, AZ
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Awesome Views of Mt. Lemmon Scenic ByWay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The winding byway takes about one hour to get to the top. When we left Tucson, it was 106 Degrees. When we left the top of the mountain it was 59 Degrees. The elevation at the top is over 9,100 feet above sea level. There were a lot of turnouts as well as larger areas where several cars could park and see the beautiful views. The rock formations were awesome. The views of the city of Tucson at night were terrific. Many of the scenic turnouts had trails where you could get up close to the plants, Saguaros and the rock formations. The overall drive provided so many amazing views. The Scenic ByWay was clearly one of our highlights of our Tucson vacation.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    136
    16
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, NL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's (mostly) all about the journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were staying at a local ranch (Tanque Verde) and decided to drive up Mt. Lemmon. A friend recommended this based on a prior visit and the locals we spoke with had high praise for the drive.

After spending a few days in the desert, we took an afternoon to escape the desert heat. The drive was dotted with stunning vistas passing through several distinct ecosystems. There are some great views of Tucson as well as interesting geological features and even an informal car grave (where some vehicles careened over the edge and were too difficult to retrieve). That's not to say that the drive is intimidating...roads are wide and well marked with plenty of pull-outs.

At one point in the drive you turn a corner and the landscape changes instantly from dry/brown to lush green as you enter a pine forest.

We stopped at the general store near the summit (in Summerhaven) to try some of the supposedly world-famous fudge. We were not disappointed, it is very good quality stuff.

The drive to the top from Summerhaven was somewhat anticlimactic, as the vistas peppered along the route had already spoiled us. Unfortunately we didn't have the time and weren't well equipped to take advantage of the other available activities (hiking/biking/etc). However, the drive alone was worth it. If you like the outdoors, plan ahead and take some more time to enjoy the scenery and trails.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Drove to the top of Mt Lemmon Memorial Day weekend 2012. LOVED the vistas around each turn (plenty of turnouts for looking and pictures) and took ride on ski lift at top to see out over the whole Tucson valley. AMAZING! So much cooler temps up there, friendly folks.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were staying with relatives in Tucson and they recommended we drive up Mt. Lemmon. This isn't something I would have likely made time for if they hadn't suggested it, but I'm so glad we did. Your driver won't get too much time to gaze out the window as you wind your way up and down the mountain, but the views at the top and at the look-outs along the way give him or her a chance to be blown away.

We had some amazing drives on this trip, including spectacular routes from Sedona to the Grand Canyon and back, but this ranks right up there! It's also great to go from 100 degree heat in the city, to 70 degrees at the higher elevation. We ate at a nice sit-down restaurant with really good food (the Sawmill Run) and although we wanted to buy a cookie at Cabins and Cookies, the line up was too long. So we bought some fudge instead (fine with me!).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Music on the Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Is back on Saturdays! Great place to relax, beat the heat, and enjoy some music. Lunch at the Saw Mill Run sitting on the patio.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.