We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed - Out of Business.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ric's Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ric's Cafe
5605 E River Rd, Tucson, AZ 85750-1998
520-577-7272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Seafood, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Closed - Out of Business.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Not sure when they closed, but the food has been mediocre for several years.

Not really surprised they went under. Tucson has too many good restaurants

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ho hum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

With so many interesting restaurants in Tucson this would be so far down on my list I would never return. Not a bad meal if it's your neighborhood. Definitely not worth seeking out otherwise.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Should have gone elsewhere.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

When we arrived on a Saturday, almost noon. There were only two tables occupied. The greeter never really smiled and just said table or booth. We were seated in a booth and waited forever for someone to even ask if we wanted drinks. In that time we noticed that the dining chairs were covered in thick dust and lint. Reagan era no doubt. The white tablecloth had brown lint on it and the walls and the windows were dirty. Service overall was slow and sloppy. The food was adequate. Not memorable. When the check came it already had the 20% tip added in.
No way was the service worth that. After a direct to the point discussion, the waitperson as able to remove the tip ammount and we paid the check. Our tip was much less than the one they were trying to extort from us. Overall...There are better and cleaner places to enjoy your time in Tucson.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really Aweful Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We are in Tucson for a five day educational conference and stay at the Westin. We found this place on a list of places to eat nearby. I had the chicken marsala and my wife had the prime rib. My chicken was not coated or stuffed with cheese, just plain covered with watery sweet brown gray with mushrooms out of a can. Yuck! No spices almost flavorless. My wife ordered medium well prime rib and it came out rare. She sent it back but still only medium rare. They only thing that was not bad was our ice tea and the sherbet that had to have been made off site. We have been coming to Tucson for six years and we will NEVER go to Ric's again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Relaxed ambiance, lovely patio, nice fountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

If you live in or visit Tucson, this is really a lovely night out...Sit outside on the patio and enjoy the music on Friday and Saturday evenings. Plenty of food (I love the salmon), reasonably priced and the music is all from our younger days (I'm 56 and recognize every song they play...sort of soft rock from the 70's and 80's is what I'm guessing). There's a great fountain with a mini stream running around the patio so on top of the gentle sounds of the music, you'll enjoy the soft sound of water running (truly a blessing in the desert!).

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ric's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.