We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service ok, food... not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cattletown

Cattletown
3141 E Drexel Rd, Tucson, AZ 85706-2813
520-295-1141
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #855 of 1,702 Restaurants in Tucson
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
El Paso, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Service ok, food... not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Cattletown was one of a list of recommendations by the hotel we were staying in, being nearby. The service was polite and prompt, seating immediate. However, the food lacked luster. The salad consisted of a little iceberg lettuce with a few canned beans and a single cherry tomato. The steak tasted like it had not been seasoned by anything other than charred material from the grill it was cooked on. I ordered my steak rare and it was definitely more medium than rare. The first impression of the restaurant was not a good one as an odd aroma hit me when entering. The whole atmosphere is dark and drab. I had thought about a seafood dish but found that the choice of fish was cod, cod, or cod - battered and deep fried. Or you could have shellfish: shrimp or rock lobster. The menu seemed limited. They could use a visit from Chef Irvine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    11
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A great family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a great family restaurant with lots of menu items. We had the sirloin special and found it quite good. The steak was tender and everything was cooked just right. Our waitress was very helpful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Cattletown was recommended to us by the desk clerk at our hotel. It is located in a relatively poor neighborhood among many small, manufactured homes but don't let that discourage you. The food and service were just fine. The restaurant stands out by its 'false front' of cowboy buildings, and when you walk in the first thing you notice is the smell of good meat cooking. If you don't like that, stay away. Prices were very reasonable, service quick and the ambiance was clearly Arizona western. We will go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Alton, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good steak, and a right price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The good, bad, and the ugly. First the good. A New York strip cooked over open wood, with baked potato, fresh salad with blue cheese, and warm rolls for $11.95, probably the best deal on steak you can find. The bad, the place is a little tacky with the Western motif, and a feeling of darkness. The ugly, is the neighborhood. This area of Tuscon, clearly shows the hard times of the economy. They have a doorman, who I also thinks watched the cars to prevent beak ins. So in if you are in the area (near the airport), and it is still daylight out, you can get a very good steak at a great price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Big! Noisy!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Large room, many people, lots of noise. Steakes (our order) were cut to thin to cook properly. (over done). "Loaded" Baked Potato, was 'strange'. Vegie choice was 'weird' for a Steak House. Our Salads were the best part of dinner. Service was Sub-Par. After waiting for a period of time, we flagged down a waitress. I think she was new...?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattletown also viewed

 

Been to Cattletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cattletown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.