We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their shawarma is the bomb-a” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zayna Mediterranean Cafe

Zayna Mediterranean Cafe
4122 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85712
(520) 881-4348
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 1,584 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Their shawarma is the bomb-a”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I go here once a week for lunch and always order the shawarma chicken . I have good intentions of ordering something else on the menu but keep going back to the shawarma. You have to try this cute little place with the best shawarma chicken ever!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas,USA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great food at good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I visited Zayna on a whim and left pleased with my meal, amount of money spent, and the service provided. I want to go back again.
I hear Zayna can be busy- however I had lunch on a quiet Saturday afternoon and found myself with plenty of space to stretch my legs. The interior of the restaurant was clean attractive. More importantly, the service was attentive and the food met my expectations. I order a little bit of everything which was all good- however I must give special recognition to the rice. Yes, rice is an often overlooked side dish, but Zayna has exceptional rice. I also would like to commend the delicious salad. I am a meat eater by nature, however the Salad (especially the tomatoes) was abnormally good. I believe that any item on the menu will not disappoint.
I ended the meal with baklava which as far as baklava goes was slightly above average(not that I didn't enjoy it, it was good, but I am a harsh baklava critic). I was pleased with my dessert.
Overall I enjoyed my visit to Zayna and will be coming back again. I think this is a strong alternative to other gyro/Mediterranean/mid-east restaurants in the great city of Tucson.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Terrific food, even better value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I can't bring myself to eat lunch anywhere else when I am in Tucson. Everything on the menu is delicious and there are many, many choices. The place is packed at lunchtime and after you eat there, you will know why!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Chicken Shawarma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I came to Tucson on a short golf trip and wanted to try some Mediterranean food. I was thinking of a Gyro. I stopped at Zayana as it was well recommended here and thought I would have a good meal. It was just lunch and the waitress suggested I tried the chicken Shawarama. Wow!! what a great meal. Excellent flavors all together. It came with well season potatoes and got some hot sauce to add. I really recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong with great service, food and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Very cheerful exterior draws you in and the quality of food and service will keep you coming back! If you aren't familiar with the menu offerings the owners are more than happy to help you decide. Gyro salad was fresh and good. My husband tried the minced lamb dinner and it was very good. Baklava was awesome.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zayna Mediterranean Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Zayna Mediterranean Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zayna Mediterranean Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.