We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivace Restaurant

Vivace Restaurant
6440 N. Campbell Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85718
520-795-7221
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,669 restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Campbell and River
Description: Rated number one for food in Tucson, by Zagat Survey, this Foothills restaurant has a Tuscan decor providing northern Italian fare, thoughtfully prepared with reasonable prices and wine list. Choose from a selection of appetizers, salads, pasta and main plates such as crab filled breaded chicken breast or grilled fresh salmon and rock shrimp. Relaxed inside and patio dining.
southern cal
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A great dining experience. Came here for lunch and had a salmon pasta which was just fantastic. The service was fast and friendly. The bread and basil dip which came with the meal was awesome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    323
    88
    21
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Took a party of eight to this place and could not believe how underwhelmed I was by the experience considering the overall great reviews on this site! Salad was not cold or particularly fresh and the shrimp bisque was nasty. Entrees were good but not great and the antipasto plate was the best part of the meal. Service was also just okay. And the first thing I noticed when entering the place was that it smelled funny. Maybe good for the older crowd who seem to frequent it but I would never recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Perfect patio for those hot afternoons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Another great return visit to Vivace's. Even on hot days the shaded patio and constant breezes draw us outside. You already know the outcome of every dish you order because it'll be fantastic. This time I was drawn to the spinach which was just an accompaniment to an appetizer. Never had it so good...almost crispy, hint of nutmeg...woww and I'm nawt a veggie person. Pasta main was too huge and too good ! Desert...try the spumoni... It's like nowhere else.
Coming back soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Old School”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have heard about Vivace for years and just never got there...... well no great loss. This place is laid out like a school cafeteria. Our server looked like she had yesterdays uniform on and had not done her hair and to be honest just looked very sloppy. She would virtually throw the plates on the table. I ordered the special and it was supposed to be a fish, from the Mediterranean topped with crab......tiny portion......crab????? could hardly see it. Overall this restaurant is relying on old people and old times, so I guess there is a place for it. I am just not ready for flavorless uninteresting food. For me I wont be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Awesome dinner and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a fantastic dinner at Vivace. We needed a break from the Ritz Dove Mountain and came here and to their sister pizzeria. Both are so fabulous. The seafood soup, pork cutlet and salmon pasta are perfect. My one complaint was their tiramusu. Something was seriously wrong with it. We were choking on the cocoa powder, some bites were inedible. Maybe this was a freak thing. I know the restaurant lost power for a little bit and maybe this messed up the refrigerated desserts. Anyway, definitely a great restaurant. Service was good but the server seemed a little rushed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vivace Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vivace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivace Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.