We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The downtown lacation is the best”
Review of El Charro Cafe - The Original

311 N Court Ave, Tucson, AZ 85701
(520) 622-1922
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #70 of 1,669 restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    256
    160
    71
    40
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for El Charro Cafe - The Original
See the most recent reviews
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The downtown lacation is the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We always take our out of state guest here for real Mexican food and quaint location. We have been going there for over 25 years. It's to bad the one on the east side wasn't as good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely, old fashioned cafe with the best salsa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The cafe has several lovely rooms filled with antiques. We started off with warm tortilla chips and the best salsa! The marguaritas are excellent. I had the tortilla soup and soft fish tacos. My husband had a Mexican burger with rice and beans. Both meals were very good. The service was prompt and courteous. Parking was metered street parking. Pricing was reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A great dining experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for an early dinner in April 2013. What a great find. It was very busy and the wait was about 45 minutes - so we looked around town and came back and the wait was worth it!! The service was excellent and we were seated right away and had 2 servers immediately at our table - one with water and one with chips and salsa. We ordered a burrito platter and faitas and they were excellent. We added a bottle of wine and it was a great dining experience. The prices were very reasonable and we would highly recommend this place if you are in the area!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place is tucked away and a bit hard to find, but worth it! Our hotel van took us here, and there are a few restaurants in the immediate area...very happy with this one! Great food, very reasonably priced, and good cold beer!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I recently went to dinner here before a basketball game. I have been here before. The atmospherel is very nice. The service was okay and the food was okay.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Charro Cafe - The Original also viewed

 

Been to El Charro Cafe - The Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Charro Cafe - The Original, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.