We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Al fresco restaurant with live music and cool courtyard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cocina

La Cocina
201 N. Court Ave, Tucson, AZ 85701 (El Presidio)
520-622-0351
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 1,690 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Vegetarian, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: El Presidio
San Francisco
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Al fresco restaurant with live music and cool courtyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This restaurant does excellent, good value vegetarian meals in a hidden, cloistered courtyard, shetlered from the sun and the traffic, with palms and a small pond with a turtle. There was a folk duet singing while we were there. This is a great place to relax and drink a cold beer - and is perfect for kids too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    25
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE FOR HAPPY HOUR WITH LIVE MUSIC !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

La Cocina is a great place to enjoy an outdoor patio, meet new friends and listen to live music. The setting is laid back with desert plants, old southwest antiques. Drink specials for happy hour are terrific. The food is very good. There are live bands playing most nights. My wife and I would recommend this place for a fun time. You gotta go there !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

During concerts they serve meals and drinks, if you get a chance go and listen to some live music here. Small area brings in good crowds, you will be within feet of the musicians. The food and drinks are great, very rustic setting covered in lights, sparkle and glitter. Great place to enjoy an evening in Tucson.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“True Historic Tucson Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We dined at La Cocina on a sunny afternoon-with the intent to visit the old town artisan shops afterwards that surrounded the charming/quaint (albeit rustic) courtyard restaurant. There was something on the menu for everyone and much to our surprise -- they also offered alcoholic beverages and also have a "happy hour". They have a coffee bar too, and offer live entertainment, and a delectable weekend brunch. La Cocina is worth the visit, as it located on the site of the El Presidio San Augustin del Tucson (dating to 1775). We all rather enjoyed the artsy and funky vibe of both the restaurant and shops. It is a lovely outing for all ages. By the way--the food was very tasty/fresh, priced reasonably, and presented artistically. Our food server exceeded our expectations. A perfect place to dine on a lazy afternoon. My only caveat is - "IF" you are a rather finicky/critical person -- you may find La Cocina too rustic. We loved it. We all agreed we would be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent selections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Have had over a half-dozen meals; never the same dish twice; never disappointed! The service is great, and if a server is slow getting to your table, the owner will show up and take the order!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina also viewed

 

Been to La Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cocina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.