We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cocina

La Cocina
201 N. Court Ave, Tucson, AZ 85701 (El Presidio)
520-622-0351
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 1,684 restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Vegetarian, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: El Presidio
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

During concerts they serve meals and drinks, if you get a chance go and listen to some live music here. Small area brings in good crowds, you will be within feet of the musicians. The food and drinks are great, very rustic setting covered in lights, sparkle and glitter. Great place to enjoy an evening in Tucson.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    41
    23
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“True Historic Tucson Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We dined at La Cocina on a sunny afternoon-with the intent to visit the old town artisan shops afterwards that surrounded the charming/quaint (albeit rustic) courtyard restaurant. There was something on the menu for everyone and much to our surprise -- they also offered alcoholic beverages and also have a "happy hour". They have a coffee bar too, and offer live entertainment, and a delectable weekend brunch. La Cocina is worth the visit, as it located on the site of the El Presidio San Augustin del Tucson (dating to 1775). We all rather enjoyed the artsy and funky vibe of both the restaurant and shops. It is a lovely outing for all ages. By the way--the food was very tasty/fresh, priced reasonably, and presented artistically. Our food server exceeded our expectations. A perfect place to dine on a lazy afternoon. My only caveat is - "IF" you are a rather finicky/critical person -- you may find La Cocina too rustic. We loved it. We all agreed we would be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent selections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Have had over a half-dozen meals; never the same dish twice; never disappointed! The service is great, and if a server is slow getting to your table, the owner will show up and take the order!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great if they'd speed it up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The atmosphere here is wonderful and the food is pretty good. The drinks are interesting and tasty. The kitchen is really slow. The waitress's are as quick and helpful as at most restaurants but the food is sooo slow to arrive. Worth another try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“'smoked salad'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our son told us he had a great place to eat on his lunch break.! I was wondering, but it was a relaxing, calm courtyard. We were greeted right away and when I asked for heat in January they lit up the heater. It was great to be comfortable to eat outside.
I had La Cocina Nicoise-smoked salmon salad which was excellent!!! All the food for lunch was great.
I will return, and with friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina also viewed

 

Been to La Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cocina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.