We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Lively and Colourful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cocina

La Cocina
201 N. Court Ave, Tucson, AZ 85701 (El Presidio)
520-622-0351
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 1,684 restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Vegetarian, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: El Presidio
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Lively and Colourful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stop for a quick dinner and were impressed with the livelyness of the place. Food is ok, but the atmosphere worthed the stop.
Friendly and fast service, we felt 500 miles south!
I recommend for the experience!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    41
    23
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've been here about 6 times since relacating to Tucson. This place is great, and I take all my visiting family and friends here. The menu has some interesting options that you don't find at most places. All the food tastes fresh, and there is something for everyone, from a burger made from free range beef, to a plate of chicken curry made with quinoa instead of rice. The appetizers are light and really good, and the portions for dinner are not large, but you will not leave hungry. I rated a 4* instead of 5* because my last trip there they changed the menu, the appetizers were the same as well as the salad and sandwich options, but the main courses had almost all changed and I was slightly disappointed with the new options. I know the menu changes frequently, and they do have good specials, but with all the wondrful options they usually have I was dissapointed.

This place is great for friends, couples, business or solo, I don't think children would do well. The atmosphere is intimate and they have live music a few nights a week. Service is very relaxed and you will be there a while, but it is nice not to feel rushed while eating, and you know your food is fresh, not waiting under some heating lamp.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Went there for an event was ok but nothing super exciting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The meal was ok nothing great sitting outside was enjoyable. they had music which we could not hear where we sitting but it sounded nice when we walked by to go to the bar. The wine was not cheap and they did not offer much variety but may be that was not the thing to drink there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An ecclectic restaurant near downtown Tucson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

There aren't many places in Tucson where you can enjoy a gourmet cheese platter, at an affordable price, in a patio setting where large trees block the sun and create an ambiance that makes you feel relaxed, almost as if you were in a mini desert oasis. One such place is La Cocina which offers a platter that consists of four cheeses: Brie, Fontina, Manchego, Cheddar, served with garlic toasted nuts, fruit, house made orange marmalade and toasted bread. Of course, they offer other items, equally as good, from specialty salads such as Spinach & Grilled Talapia (my favorite) to hearty sandwiches and much more. The restaurant is located across the street from the historic Presidio San Agustin del Tucson--well worth a visit, as are the quaint artisan shops that surround the laid-back, one-of-a kind restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Food good, location and ambiance very nice, bar cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went on music nite so was fun and an excellent value. The outside area is shaded and early evenings are just wonderful. Wish this place had more patrons because the setting is conducive for large groups, maybe they'll do more events, beer and wine tastings for the future as this place has potential for a real hang out. Lots of space to chill and meander about and draft beers at $5 is reasonable enough for the microbrew quality served: Nimbus/Dragoon/Barrio Brewing. I recommend this place for friends to meet in old town, family gatherings and celebrations , or just to pop in and have a cold one. Staff try' s hard and cares. Variety of snacks available and some food items , my sandwich was ok.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina also viewed

 

Been to La Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cocina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.