We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals I've had in Tucson” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McMahon's Prime Steakhouse

McMahon's Prime Steakhouse
2959 N Swan Rd, Tucson, AZ 85712-1222
520-327-7463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
McMahon's Prime Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #143 of 1,682 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $26 - $45
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ft. Lowell / Swan
Lincroft, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've had in Tucson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We went here for my wife's birthday, and we were not disappointed. My son and I had the strip steak, and my wife had the petit filet mignon. We were all very pleased with the steaks, and the sides were also all very nice. The asparagus with hollandaise was just OK, but the mac and cheese was terrific, and the creamed spinach was awesome. I will go again the next time I'm in Tucson to sample some other things on the menu, but I highly recommend a visit here if you are in Tucson.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multh, Owner at McMahon's Prime Steakhouse, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to dine with us. We appreciate your review and look forward to serving you again next time you are in Tucson. Safe travels and thank you again for the review. Our management and culinary team will be excited to read it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    24
    17
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Unparalleled Entertainment at McMahons April 19th & 20th in the Piano Lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The history of McMahons makes it by far a favorite choice for their enticing menu. As long time patrons we are very inspired by what's happening at McMahons in the Piano Lounge.

Easter weekend we discovered musical talent at its best.

Saturday evening in the past was such a disappointment in the piano lounge. Not a fan nor would return.

As we were driving by this Saturday evening, we saw many people all dressed in nice outfits going inside. Thought something must be going on so we turned around and checked it out.

Well people, that was the best decision we made all day. There was a first rate show in the piano lounge. The talent was sophisticated and professional. Menu was a happy hour $5 choices
Delicious as expected at McMahons.

We found out the following day McMahons we're open at 11 am for Brunch

Brunch did NOT disappoint!
It was so beautiful inside with colorful Easter Eggs everywhere. Various food stations kept the crowd flowing nicely. I loved everything!

We asked to be seated in piano room as we heard the alluring piano as we arrived

All of us were chatting over our amazement at the level of talent and passion as he played during Brunch. It was amazing how he used the grand piano to express to all of us just how perfect his interruption enhanced the mood of the dining room. His performance was exceptional as well as the culinary experience.

We have spent years supporting music in the Tucson area, therefore we thank whoever arranged the entertainment April 19th and Easter Brunch.

Our suggestion is to repeat these talented artists. Never return to the regular piano guy on Saturday evenings.

Everyone who reads this

We encourage to check out the entertainment changes at McMahons.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multh, Owner at McMahon's Prime Steakhouse, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We have made a concerted effort to support the local arts and have found recent success with our new performing arts program. We are working on having these events on a more regular basis and your comments are truly appreciated. Thank you for sharing your experience(s). We look forward to serving you again soon (and often)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“EASTER BRUNCH & UNFORGETTABLE PIANO MUSIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

KUDOS McMAHONS

Easter Brunch was a delight. Venue and decor were perfectly paired with the beautiful array of brunch choices. Omelet bar was the perfect start with so many tasty choices. Ham melted in your mouth. Definately a taste bud pleaser! Salad bar featured fresh and colorful choices making it easy to make healthy choices. The lamb was the only disappointment. Sorry to be negative .

Vegetables were crisp which I appreciated. Chef and staff were so accommadating. Loved their happy and helpful attitude. Quite apparent the chef has a creative and artistic flair with food. Enjoyed being spoiled by all the delicious food placed throughout the restaurant. I believe the more colorful and beautiful food items appear the better the taste. But that maybe just me.

However, the icing on the cake, so to speak, was in the Ivory Piano Lounge.

Unforgettable, it was as though the room was suspended in time while dining and attending a prodigious, flawless execution of piano music.

The piano master came to our table, as well as all the guests tables, and introduced himself as Dennis. He inquired about our favorite music and wanted to know what we would enjoy listening to.
Not knowing what style of music he played it sparked a conversation and our table was pleasantly surprised to learn of his endless repertoire. It was absolutely insane of the ease in which he performed.

There are certainly a lot of venues to dine for Easter Brunch in the Tucson area. We are the lucky ones who choose McMahons Prime Steakhouse. Had no idea it included a superb piano concert. We will be back with friends very soon. Dennis's musicality warrants numerous return visits to enjoy his talents. Thank you Dennis for sharing your gift of music.

We left having made new friends in the Ivory Piano Lounge. As lovers of great food and great music our Easter was extremely delightful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multh, Owner at McMahon's Prime Steakhouse, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are the lucky ones to have had you choose us. Thank you for celebrating with us and for the wonderfully detailed review. We hope to serve you again very soon. We have a live pianist 7 nights a week, if you are ever looking for a place to have cocktails or dinner. Thank you again and maybe we will see you on Mother's Day... if not before... for our next holiday brunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Great Wine, But..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The restaurant has a very nice décor and great atmosphere. They have very impressive wine selection. Appetizers, side dishes and desserts were excellent and so was the service. However, the restaurant main feature - steaks – were far from perfect, the steaks were tasty, but three out of the four we ordered were over cooked. For the price they charge it was a bit disappointing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multh, Owner at McMahon's Prime Steakhouse, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
It is great to read that you enjoyed the wine list, ambiance and service. But it is disappointing to read that we missed on the most important part of your experience - the steak - being that we are a steakhouse. I sincerely apologize. I see it was purely the temperature at which the steaks were prepared where we erred, and not the flavor or the other items ordered. We train our grill chefs to temp all steaks before letting them rest then serving them. It seems that we need to revisit this practice. I assure you that training will take place immediately. I could not agree with you more that for the price, you should get the steak as requested. We buy the best beef available to us and our butcher ensures the highest quality products enter our kitchen. If our guests aren't on the receiving end of a perfect steak, we are doing ourselves (and you) an injustice. Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how we can improve and thank you for choosing to dine with us. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Lake, WI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you like a delicious hamburger at a great price--$5 you must go to McMahons in Tucson. From 3-7 PM every day the appetizers and the burger is $5 dollars while beer, wine and drinks are reduced by $1 in the bar and on the outdoor patio. This is a Tucson landmark--full disclosure--I have not eaten in the main restaurant. However based on the quality of the burger--I likely will try the restaurant sometime. Additionally they have lunch specials every day. In addition to burgers, we shared an appetizer which was very good. Trust me--if you are looking for a great burger--this is a place to find one.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multh, Owner at McMahon's Prime Steakhouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
You are making me hungry for a hamburger right now! Thank you for joining us for happy hour and for the review. We grind or burgers in house and for $5 during happy hour - what a deal. We hope you will join us in the dining room soon. Thank you again for your comments and thank you for choosing to dine with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McMahon's Prime Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McMahon's Prime Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.