We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Tucson Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dish

The Dish
3131 E First St, Tucson, AZ 85716-3934
520 326 1714
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 1,748 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Contemporary, Eclectic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Hartland, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favorite Tucson Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I can't figure out why this restaurant doesn't show higher in Tucson's ratings. The food here is innovative and extraordinarily good. We had artichoke hearts as an appetizer and practically came to blows over who would get the last of them, they were so good. My daughter is a light eater and she had another appetizer, the Sunchoke Terrine, for her main course which she liked very much. Both my son-in-law had the Pearl Couscous for our entree - goat cheese / honey/ fried falafel tomato / almonds / harissa fennel & zucchini. Only my daughter is vegetarian, but we all ended up with vegetarian meals this night.
The restaurant is located in the Rum Runner liquor store. They have a side room for the bar and restaurant, but you might end up with a table in the liquor store, as we did. The atmosphere is intimate and nice. You can choose any bottle of wine in the store for dinner and just add a $15 corking fee. - a really good deal.
If you want a really good meal, I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    10
    5
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benson, AZ
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We visit the Rum Runner shop and decided to stay for dinner. We shared a spicy pumpkin seed salad, mai mai fish and polenta. Obviously enjoyed some great wine. Food was exceptionally good and well presented. Smaller portions than many places but much higher quality. No charge fir sharing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corralitos, California, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Such a Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had hoped for lots more in the food.

First the good stuff: the 2 waiters were great. They let me taste 2 wines before I chose my glass. They were friendly, quick and professional. The Spanish white I ended up choosing was delightful, and clearly from a freshly-opened bottle.

My friend ordered the mussels and they were good: bathed in a simple wine-butter sauce. But the bread that was served to the table was clearly stale and not that great to begin with! A place like this doesn't need to serve less-than-great bread, and certainly not stale bread. (We had GREAT bread from Bakehouse at Wildflower earlier this week, so I know that Tucson has good bread.)

We ordered the flatbread with salmon and avo to share: the toppings were simple and fresh, nothing special, but the actual flatbread was stale/chewy but not chewy in a good way. It was a bit like it had been microwaved at some point, or just truly stale.

For my 'main' I ordered the paella crab cake. The portion size was generous, but it just didn't taste good: it tasted mostly of egg (the egg must have been the binder to keep the cake together) and reminded me a little of the egg foo young (sp!?) that my grandmother used to order at cheap Chinese restaurants when I was a child. The sauce tasted entirely of bell pepper and nothing else, pureed bell pepper with a touch of cream is my guess: no hint of saffron or anything else but bell pepper. I didn't eat more than a bite of this dish.

I wish we had skipped this place and eaten at Downtown Kitchen. Next time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
598 reviews 598 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
422 helpful votes 422 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Mussels and a glass of wine for $12.99! A price that you cannot beat and super portion and great taste.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Waited to long to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had not been to The Dish since they moved the restaurant and The Road Runner ( the attached wine and liquor store )..Wonderful mussels.. A great wine selection and a very cozy ( seats 30 ) restaurant.. We ate at the bar and our bar tender/waiter was about the best I have had in Tucson...What a great experience. I recommend to anyone that wants a wonderful "night out"... I don't recommend for children----I DO recommend reservations....ENJOY

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dish also viewed

 

Been to The Dish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.