We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anthony's in the Catalinas - CLOSED

Anthony's in the Catalinas
6440 N Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85718-1302
520-299-1771
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Central European, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Martinez, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Views all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Look to one side and see the lights of the city. Look the other way and see the beautiful Catalinas. Look between the two and see the sun setting. The food was outstanding too. Each plate is a small masterpiece to the eyes and palette.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    68
    25
    16
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not recommended - much better alternatives in Tucson”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I would not recommend Anthony's in the Catalinas. Here's why:

The restaurant is dated. The parking lot and exterior look run down. There was no valet parking available and the parking lot has a rather strange and unaccommodating design. The interior was not much better. It looks rather tacky, from the box frame of cork screws on the wall as you enter, to the tired and worn down tapestry in the main dining room. Overall, Anthony's gives the appearance that it has not had any cosmetic updates in a couple decades.

The staff suffer from the same disheveled appearance, which matched the service we received. It was a slow Tuesday evening; however, we waited approximately 10-15 minutes for our waiter to make an appearance. No apologies. He didn't even bother to introduce himself. It felt very transactional and not friendly at all.

We each had a couple glasses of wine with dinner. My first glass had a gnat in it. The staff was very prompt to replace my glass, but made no offer to replace the wine that was in my glass. I thought that was strange given I have no control over their apparent gnat problem. That experience in itself wouldn't have been a problem, but when coupled with all of the rest of the poor service experience, I was increasingly annoyed.

Our food was delivered promptly. The presentation was not spectacular, but I was quite satisfied with the taste. Dessert too was enjoyable.

In light of the above, I would not recommend Anthony's. The service is shameful, which is matched by its appearance. The food was just fine, but I suspect has the same presentation as it had 20 years ago. This is a restaurant which is clearly in decline and can be anticipated to be gone within a few years if it continues on its current course.

There are plenty of superior alternatives in Tucson. Gold at the Westward Look Resort is less expensive and far superior both in service and in food. The Grill at Hacienda del Sol is also spectacular.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Joe, the sommelier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I always stop here when I'm in Tucson. On a high peak that looks over tucson. The building is beautiful, food is amazing, and wine cellar to die for. Their sommelier, Joe is the coolest. He knows his stuff and was so fun to just sit there and listen to him talk about wine.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Luxury in the Foothills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Anthony's in the Catalinas has long been a Tucson dining spot that impresses, from the lovely vistas of the nearby Catalina Mountains to the north and the Tucson city lights to the South, to the impeccable service and the quality of the food on the traditional continental menu. From the first pour of bottled water and the amuse bouche to the last bite of dessert, Anthony's is a first-class dining experience. You will, however, pay top dollar for the privilege of dining here, especially if you accompany your meal with an offering from the extensive wine list. Dinner for two is likely to exceed $125, more if you go appetizer to dessert. But it's a special occasion type of place, so save your pennies and splurge with a visit to one of Tucson's special places.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Still a great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

To celebrate an anniversary, we arrived at Anthony's at 6:00 PM a couple of evenings ago. The main dining room was already quite busy, and there was a private party underway in the patio. It got even busier as the main dining room filled up and the private party sat down for dinner in another dining room. Nevertheless, Anthony's excellent and experienced staff did not miss a beat. We had a wonderful meal (the best braised short ribs I have ever had) and enjoyed, from their outstanding wine cellar, a superb bottle of wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's in the Catalinas also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anthony's in the Catalinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.