We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anthony's in the Catalinas - CLOSED

Anthony's in the Catalinas
6440 N Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85718-1302
Improve this listing
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, International, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Views all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Look to one side and see the lights of the city. Look the other way and see the beautiful Catalinas. Look between the two and see the sun setting. The food was outstanding too. Each plate is a small masterpiece to the eyes and palette.

Visited May 2013
Thank donscameron45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not recommended - much better alternatives in Tucson”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I would not recommend Anthony's in the Catalinas. Here's why:

The restaurant is dated. The parking lot and exterior look run down. There was no valet parking available and the parking lot has a rather strange and unaccommodating design. The interior was not much better. It looks rather tacky, from the box frame of cork screws on the wall as you enter, to the tired and worn down tapestry in the main dining room. Overall, Anthony's gives the appearance that it has not had any cosmetic updates in a couple decades.

The staff suffer from the same disheveled appearance, which matched the service we received. It was a slow Tuesday evening; however, we waited approximately 10-15 minutes for our waiter to make an appearance. No apologies. He didn't even bother to introduce himself. It felt very transactional and not friendly at all.

We each had a couple glasses of wine with dinner. My first glass had a gnat in it. The staff was very prompt to replace my glass, but made no offer to replace the wine that was in my glass. I thought that was strange given I have no control over their apparent gnat problem. That experience in itself wouldn't have been a problem, but when coupled with all of the rest of the poor service experience, I was increasingly annoyed.

Our food was delivered promptly. The presentation was not spectacular, but I was quite satisfied with the taste. Dessert too was enjoyable.

In light of the above, I would not recommend Anthony's. The service is shameful, which is matched by its appearance. The food was just fine, but I suspect has the same presentation as it had 20 years ago. This is a restaurant which is clearly in decline and can be anticipated to be gone within a few years if it continues on its current course.

There are plenty of superior alternatives in Tucson. Gold at the Westward Look Resort is less expensive and far superior both in service and in food. The Grill at Hacienda del Sol is also spectacular.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank nomos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
217 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Joe, the sommelier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I always stop here when I'm in Tucson. On a high peak that looks over tucson. The building is beautiful, food is amazing, and wine cellar to die for. Their sommelier, Joe is the coolest. He knows his stuff and was so fun to just sit there and listen to him talk about wine.

Visited April 2013
Thank BostonBabeBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Luxury in the Foothills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Anthony's in the Catalinas has long been a Tucson dining spot that impresses, from the lovely vistas of the nearby Catalina Mountains to the north and the Tucson city lights to the South, to the impeccable service and the quality of the food on the traditional continental menu. From the first pour of bottled water and the amuse bouche to the last bite of dessert, Anthony's is a first-class dining experience. You will, however, pay top dollar for the privilege of dining here, especially if you accompany your meal with an offering from the extensive wine list. Dinner for two is likely to exceed $125, more if you go appetizer to dessert. But it's a special occasion type of place, so save your pennies and splurge with a visit to one of Tucson's special places.

Visited April 2013
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still a great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

To celebrate an anniversary, we arrived at Anthony's at 6:00 PM a couple of evenings ago. The main dining room was already quite busy, and there was a private party underway in the patio. It got even busier as the main dining room filled up and the private party sat down for dinner in another dining room. Nevertheless, Anthony's excellent and experienced staff did not miss a beat. We had a wonderful meal (the best braised short ribs I have ever had) and enjoyed, from their outstanding wine cellar, a superb bottle of wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank TucsonRoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's in the Catalinas also viewed


Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing