We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a mystery plate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Poca Cosa

Cafe Poca Cosa
100 E. Pennington St., Suite 100, Tucson, AZ 85701 (El Presidio)
520 622 6400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,684 restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: El Presidio
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Get a mystery plate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is one of the best and well known Mexican restaurants in town. The recipes are actually from Mexico and they have a unique flair. The restaurant is very trendy and upscale. Dress appropriately or you will feel like a bit of a slob. The waitstaff are all very hip and the atmosphere is very cool. This is a great place for a business lunch, a birthday celebration, or a date. We take people from out of town and they love it. The mystery plate is always a great surprise and delicious!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    455
    115
    65
    40
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Tiny gem with hugs from the owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great mexican eatery for lunch and dinner. Try the surprise platter, where kitchen selects based on your likes, dislikes, allergies. Great food, generous portions, moderate prices.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A bit pretentious, but worth it for the taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went here on a Tuesday evening and did not need to wait for a table; we were seated immediately. The menu changes almost daily but they always have steak, chicken, and vegetarian entrees. Everything comes with a salad, tortillas, rice, and beans (served family style). The food was amazing! The presentation was great, the meat was tender, the sauces were delicious and ample. The desserts were just as good as the main courses. The food was delivered quickly for both courses and our server was attentive. My only complaint was that we had to wait almost 10 minutes for water we ordered right when we sat down, and my margarita was delivered with salt on the rim although I had specifically requested otherwise. These minor complaints aside, the only problem with this restaurant is that they are a bit pretentious. Although most of their customers are in shorts and t-shirts, the place is decorated like a lounge in New York. Because of the changes in the menu, the waiter has to explain the options, but it's done in such a way that it's almost a little off-putting. Nevertheless, I most definitely recommend at least one visit to this restaurant as the food is definitely worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not Toco Bell Mexican!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were told about this awesome find by a friend. We travel with a wheelchair and service dog so we always call ahead even if they don't take reservations, but Poco Cosa was more than happy to accommodate our needs. It was suggested we order the chefs special, after looking at he handwritten chock board, and not being able to decide what to choose,even though it was skillfully described by our waiter, (from Brooklyn NY) with a beautiful hispanic accent, we went with the chiefs choice. There aren't enough words to tell you how fresh, delectable the food is. Suzana Davila has rewritten what you think Mexican food should taste, look and feel like. If you only eat out once in Tucson you must go to Boca Cosa.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Experiment with food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Apparently this is a Mexican restaurant. But don't get you hopes high if u are looking an authentic food n flavors. Food is more of a salad and is absolutely bland. I asked for a frozen drink and all I got was a bad drink in a mildly cold water! Half boiled veggies were served in water they were boiled in. Rice was not at all cooked well and beans looked poured direct from the can. We asked server for a slide plate to try beans n rice but no one bothered! They try to paint a fancy picture but its not a Mexican resturant for my taste!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Poca Cosa also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Poca Cosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Poca Cosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.