We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Poca Cosa

Cafe Poca Cosa
100 E. Pennington St., Suite 100, Tucson, AZ 85701 (El Presidio)
520 622 6400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,685 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: El Presidio
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
“I love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We showed up with no reservation and was quickly taken care of. I got the trio and was happy I did I ended up getting something I wouldnt normally order and I now am a mole fan!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    456
    115
    65
    40
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious, and different every night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our B&B hostess recommended Cafe Poca Cosa. We liked it so much we returned a second night! The Mexican cuisine is fresh, colorful, tasty, and beautifully presented. The menu changes every night, so there are no printed menus; your server will bring a chalkboard to your table and describe each item. There are chicken, beef, fish, and vegetarian entrees, all served with rice, beans, and tortillas. Desserts - cupcakes being the specialty - are yummy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A True Cullinary Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

When I first entered, I was surprised by the beautiful, sexy and sophisticated interior. Definitely not your typical Mexican reataurant! The menu is very creative as is the manner in which it is presented. The selections change daily with the exception of a couple of items which are considered guest favorites.

When the server began to explain the menu, it was as if she was taking us on a Cullinary journey. She explained each item in detail, the special ingredients and how they make the dish special. If you are a foodie, you will love this.

When the food arrived, we were blown away. Each dish was a work of art and a feast for the eyes. I ordered the Tamale Pie, a staple on their menu. It was fantastic as was everything else we ordered.

The only negative is parking since it is located downtown.

I can't remember the last time I was blown away by a restaurant
but this one certainly did. I can't
wait to return to Tucson!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tucsons best gourmet Mexican!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is the best Mexican food in the Old Pueblo, you will not find Sonoran style/bland food that most people associate with Mexican, this food is a mixture of all the styles of Mexico. From Oaxacan, Yucatan, Mexico City, Aztec and beyond. Modern contempory styling in downtown, great bar and the service is great. The menu changes everyday and this is a true chefs restaurant. Get the Poca Cosa platter which consists of 3 entrees from the daily offerings- but you dont choose, the chef will. Our whole table ordered the Poca Cosa platters and each one of us received a different trio- by sharing between us we were able to taste nearly the entire days menu. They did offer vegetarian offerings- but lets be real, when I have Mexican, I want meat! This place will definitely give the best Mexican restaurants anywhere in the world a run for their money. Must eat in Tucson!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great ambiance, different menu every day, hard to make a decision on what entry to choose, when they are all exciting and delicious. The owner/chef, visits each table every night - a nice touch!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Poca Cosa also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Poca Cosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Poca Cosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.