We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grill at Hacienda del Sol

The Grill at Hacienda del Sol
5501 N Hacienda Del Sol Rd, Tucson, AZ 85718-5129
+1 520-529-3500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grill at Hacienda del Sol is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 1,684 restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Via Alcalde
Description: The Grill at Hacienda del Sol is one of Arizona's top restaurants located in a beautiful setting at the base of Tucson's Catalina Foothills. Breathtaking mountain and city views are captured from The Grill's dining room where you will be treated to "Spirited Southwestern Hospitality" and a remarkable menu featuring local ingredients from the resort's own organic gardens, local purveyors, and growers. The Grill's wine list, with over 1000 selections, was twice bestowed "The Award of Ultimate Distinction" by Wine Enthusiast Magazine and has been awarded the "Best Of Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator for 16 consecutive years. Service is efficient yet relaxed and the atmosphere is comfortable with no dress code. There is a charming open air bar patio with entertainment on the weekends for those who prefer a casual setting featuring our Terraza Garden Patio & Lounge. Live music nightly.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Grill at Hacienda del Sol is the most beautiful, peaceful, intimate restaurant in Tucson. Whether its a meal with friends or family, or lunch with a lover, this dining establishment with it's beautiful flowers and location tucked within a resort, can't be beat. The hostess, food and service from out waiter Hebert were very good on a recent visit when we took a friend to lunch for her birthday.

We could actually hear each other as we talked, a rare treat. Although the beautiful outdoor patio beckoned to us, the temperature was a little cool and we chose to eat indoors. My husband thought his reuben sandwich was "perfect". We have also been here for Sunday brunch in December 2013 and it was excellent. I am a vegan and both I and my non-vegan family were delighted with the array of choices.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    201
    66
    25
    17
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awful service would not take the time to go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I went with my husband to enjoy breakfast, in a nice setting. We had nice views because we requested a table by a window. We had to remind our server our meal came with toast, she brought it with our check at the end of our meal. Their was an assistant to the waiter, I had to flag down to get a refill of coffee. when she did, she turned around and did not offer my husband a refill. We had to ask for everything for the view, coffee, cream, and if our food came with toast. Come on Denny's would do better. The worst service ever, I would not recommend to anyone. I reported my experience to the hostess Parandra. she replied they were too busy because of groupon coupons sold.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Washington
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“A Touch of Class in Tucson's Foothills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

From the moment you peak inside the perimeter wall, decorated with luminaria, you know you chose a special place. Choose the fine dining side to continue that special experience. The mountain view in the setting sun is dynamite. Wait staff serve graciously, attentively and knowledgeably. My husband enjoyed the duck breast (ask for medium doneness) but I thought the beans added little to the flavor or the presentation. My warm Brussels sprout salad--delicious melding of tastes--came attractively plated and portioned. The pernod broth on the generous plate of mussels--to live for; and the chocolate mousse layered over chocolate cake not only looked pretty, but tasted yummy. We chose the Sharffenberger brut, a nice California champagne, which complemented our food without killing our pocketbook. The charming Brazilian guitarist played two lovely selections tableside. All in all we had a marvelous experience and will celebrate a special occasion at this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked dinner for Christmas day. We got a 6:45 reservation as they said that was all they had left. When we got there we found out that it was buffet and 6:45 was their last seating. They said to give them 5 - 10 minutes and they would seat us. Another couple came in that they knew and they seated them right away in the same room we eventually were seated at, even though we were there first. Our martini tasted watered down. When we went to the buffet they said they were out of Prime Rib and the rest of the food looked like it had been sitting there a while and picked over. The food was okay but for a place that was suppose to be top notch and was costly, not worth it at all. The manager came into the room we were seated at and went to the table where the other couple had been seated and let them know they were going to closing down and did they need anything. She never came over to us to ask us.
The wait staff was excellent - very attentive and the valet parking guy was great. He asked how everything was and we said "not so good". He said he was sorry to hear and that we should give them another try.
Would not go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food with a Spectacular View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is the place you'll want to visit when celebrating a special occasion in Tucson! Pricey, but well worth it! The food and the view can't be beat! And while you are there, walk around the resort and learn the history of it. Favorite spot!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill at Hacienda del Sol also viewed

 

Been to The Grill at Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grill at Hacienda del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.