We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rustic place for steaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Li'l Abner's Steakhouse

Li'l Abner's Steakhouse
8501 N Silverbell Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743-9513
(520) 744-2800
Improve this listing
Ranked #335 of 1,684 restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good rustic place for steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a great time eating at Li'l Abners this week. Went on a Weds. night, and it was not crowded at all - I can see where this place would be a lot of fun on the weekends, especially with live music. Took our kids and really liked our filets and t-bones. I would agree with other reviews that it's a bit costly for what it is, but we thought it was a fun place with good food. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive to our family. Enjoyed it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    55
    39
    19
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
va
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This is a keeper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Desk clerk at the local Best Western pointed us here, and she was right!. The entrees (steak, chicken or ribs) are done outside over an open grill. Meals include family style bowl of beans, baked potato is extra and worth it. The chicken was absolutely outstanding. Barbeque sauce is piquant and zesty, nice. Not too sweet, not too hot, it was a nice complement to a nice moist and perfectly cooked entree. The only shortcoming is not having a menu to actually look at (I agree with azteco111) which is probably ok for the local regulars (and there must be plenty because it was pretty full restaurant) who know which of the great choices are already their favorites, but for us tourists, it does result in asking for it all to be repeated.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Didn't get the point of no menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I didn't get a menu. I asked for one and they said that it was a spoken menu. I didn't get the point. By the time she got to the end of the list I had forgotten what she started with. Sorry, I like to read menus and decide what I want based on sound and cost. Maybe if they do not want to print menus they can have some posted on the walls. The steak and bread were very good. The beans were not very tasty as well as the salsa. The salsa was from a can I think. Too bad they can make a really good salsa on the grill with tomatoes and some hot peppers. Not too much work.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“REAL BARBEQUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The building is basic and very old, the menu is very limited and dictated by the waitress, no menus. You get a side salad, beans and salsa with your choice of beef steaks or pork ribs, the baked potato is extra!. The grill is outside on an open mesquite log fire. The taste is fantastic and highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with plenty of meat choice, but is it changing?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a great restaurant, mainly for summer outside eating, just off I-10, North at the Cotraro exit. I have been going there for more than 10 years and the food is always good, although I think it is not as good as it used to be. Food choice is either 1lb T-bone, 2lb porterhouse, filet, chicken and both beef and pork ribs. That's it. All cooked over mesquite fire. Last time I visited we ordered filet steaks and pork ribs. The ribs were a little overcooked (maybe because it was pork) but the filet steak was well done and juicy. Recommended. In the winter there is indoors seating, which altough appealing for its casualness, I prefer outdoor ssummertime seating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Li'l Abner's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Li'l Abner's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Li'l Abner's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.