We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wildflower

Wildflower
7037 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-4329
520-219-4230
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wildflower is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 1,748 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Oracle
Description: As with everything great, one must first seek the roots. In our case, we are lucky enough to have our first restaurant, Wildflower, continuously thriving and serving the local and die-hard fans of Fox Restaurant Concepts in Tucson. While our seasonal menu changes with the calendar, the walls and décor with the years, the one thing that has remained steadfast and true is Wildflower’s carefully constructed plates, artfully shaken martinis and loyalty to its guests. You could call it a long-term love affair, and you’d just be scratching the surface.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

It is too bad this restaurant does not try harder. It could be good, they just don't go the extra mile. Even though we went in June and on a 105 degree day, many of the dinner entrees were suitable for a winter meal. There was nothing really light and fresh on the menu. There were 4 in our party. Two of us ordered the sea bass which was "the special." The fish portion was very small, there was a lot of white rice on the plate and it was garnished with fennel. White fish, white rice, and white fennel. There was nothing attractive about the plate. There was nothing special about the flavors. Our guests ordered the beef and the salmon, they too were unimpressed.

We sat outside on the patio which does have water misters, but the outdoor upholstery is dirty, there were bread crumbs on the cushions, and the floor needs to be power washed. Service was friendly, but very laid back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    148
    54
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always top-notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The food is excellent. They are more than helpful in adjusting for customers with food allergies. Wildflower compares with any first-class restaurant in any city.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Better to Sit in the Patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Inside, the restaurant is noisy and you can't carry on a conversation. My fav dish there are the scallops with forbidden rice. Wonderful lunch place as well. We love the place only if we can eat outside.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great patio, outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Recently visited the Wildflower Restaurant in Tuscon, in a word, spectacular. We were greeted as we arrived, and as we had reservations through open table we were seated immeidately. It was a Tuesday night, and reservations were probably not required. We took a seat on the patio, which is very large, probably 80 seats, with a beautiful view out to the mountains. We ate our dinner between 5:30 and 7:00 and to watch the sun and shadows on the mountains was spectacular. We started our dinner with a glass of Sangria, although Tuesday's is half price bottle of wine night. Shortly after our drinks were delivered by our lovely server, Lizzie we were bought bread with an excellent olive oil. We then started our meal with salads, I had the Farmer's salad, very nice, fresh, and my wife had the Kale salad, which was also good. For mains, I had the steelhead, beautifully cooked in a beautiful sweet sauce, my wife had the Paella, also very, very good.

Full, but curious we had to try the desserts. I had the strawberry rhubarb crisp, with scoop of vanilla bean ice cream, my wife the bars of sin. I finished mine, delicious, my wife ate one of the two bars and had the rest in a doggie bag for a late night snack.

Excellent service, excellent food, a truly great food experience. Thank you Wildflower.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful outdoor setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

wonderful lunch with a beautiful mountain view. Almost feels like you are looking at a photo just so perfect. Sandwiches are unique delicious, and large enough to split with someone so you can try the soup as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildflower also viewed

 

Been to Wildflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildflower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.