We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wildflower

7037 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-4329
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wildflower is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 1,682 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Oracle
Description: As with everything great, one must first seek the roots. In our case, we are lucky enough to have our first restaurant, Wildflower, continuously thriving and serving the local and die-hard fans of Fox Restaurant Concepts in Tucson. While our seasonal menu changes with the calendar, the walls and décor with the years, the one thing that has remained steadfast and true is Wildflower’s carefully constructed plates, artfully shaken martinis and loyalty to its guests. You could call it a long-term love affair, and you’d just be scratching the surface.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

It is too bad this restaurant does not try harder. It could be good, they just don't go the extra mile. Even though we went in June and on a 105 degree day, many of the dinner entrees were suitable for a winter meal. There was nothing really light and fresh on the menu. There were 4 in our party. Two of us ordered the sea bass which was "the special." The fish portion was very small, there was a lot of white rice on the plate and it was garnished with fennel. White fish, white rice, and white fennel. There was nothing attractive about the plate. There was nothing special about the flavors. Our guests ordered the beef and the salmon, they too were unimpressed.

We sat outside on the patio which does have water misters, but the outdoor upholstery is dirty, there were bread crumbs on the cushions, and the floor needs to be power washed. Service was friendly, but very laid back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
4 Thank CitasDash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always top-notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The food is excellent. They are more than helpful in adjusting for customers with food allergies. Wildflower compares with any first-class restaurant in any city.

Visited May 2013
1 Thank DaveR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
155 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Better to Sit in the Patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Inside, the restaurant is noisy and you can't carry on a conversation. My fav dish there are the scallops with forbidden rice. Wonderful lunch place as well. We love the place only if we can eat outside.

Visited June 2013
Thank grand old girl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
270 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great patio, outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Recently visited the Wildflower Restaurant in Tuscon, in a word, spectacular. We were greeted as we arrived, and as we had reservations through open table we were seated immeidately. It was a Tuesday night, and reservations were probably not required. We took a seat on the patio, which is very large, probably 80 seats, with a beautiful view out to the mountains. We ate our dinner between 5:30 and 7:00 and to watch the sun and shadows on the mountains was spectacular. We started our dinner with a glass of Sangria, although Tuesday's is half price bottle of wine night. Shortly after our drinks were delivered by our lovely server, Lizzie we were bought bread with an excellent olive oil. We then started our meal with salads, I had the Farmer's salad, very nice, fresh, and my wife had the Kale salad, which was also good. For mains, I had the steelhead, beautifully cooked in a beautiful sweet sauce, my wife had the Paella, also very, very good.

Full, but curious we had to try the desserts. I had the strawberry rhubarb crisp, with scoop of vanilla bean ice cream, my wife the bars of sin. I finished mine, delicious, my wife ate one of the two bars and had the rest in a doggie bag for a late night snack.

Excellent service, excellent food, a truly great food experience. Thank you Wildflower.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful outdoor setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

wonderful lunch with a beautiful mountain view. Almost feels like you are looking at a photo just so perfect. Sandwiches are unique delicious, and large enough to split with someone so you can try the soup as well.

Visited September 2012
Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildflower also viewed


Been to Wildflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing