We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brushfire BBQ Co East

Brushfire BBQ Co East
7080 E 22nd St, Tucson, AZ
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #233 of 1,691 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

First off let me say that Tucson will never replace Memphis or KC as BBQ Mecca's. That being said Brushfire offers up some pretty good BBQ for this Berg. MY wife and I were in there on a busy night about a week ago. It's the kind of place where you order and then find a seat, not my favorite seating arangement because when places like that are busy finding the type of table you like can be dicey. Lucky for us a booth opened up at just the right time. We both ordered two versions of basicaly the same thing, babyback ribs. Two sides and a beverage completed our order,sweetpotato pie for me for dessert. After a period of time we didn't think was really excessive our order came to the table. my order was spot on and I dug in. My wife on the otherhand remarked that her ribs were cold, not that they had been hot and cooled but were not hot to begin with. I compared them to mine and they were indeed cold with hot sauce applied to them. Now this is where this outfit really shines. When we brought our problem to the atention of one of the servers they said they would fix us a new order. All we really asked and expected them to do was heat the order we already had. We were totally blown away then they brought a brand new order to our table AND a box we could take the first order home in. Top rate customer service and good BBQ left us with a great impression of Brushfire. The sweetpotato pie could use a little more spice but that's just a small glitch in an otherwise decent experiance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Tucson Az”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is the best BBQ in town the restaurant has a nice feel to it the employe's are great. The food is awesome always hot. They have a nice bar and some TV's to watch the games. Also have a event room which I've used and had a great experience. I visit quite often one of my favorite restaurants in Tucson.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north bay
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good food but not casual dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The food is quite good and not too pricy A basic dinner is $10.00. I had brisket and it melted in your mouth--the green beans and sweet potatoes were delish--my husband had the roasted chicken with mac & cheese and baked beans--good too. The only draw back was that this is a fast food type of restaurant with plastic utensils. You go up to the counter to order and then they bring the food to you, A good thing is the beer was cold, cheap and came in glass tumblers. We were there on a Sunday night and the place was busy enough and not too loud

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Southern cooking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went here for lunch with some friends...and was pleasantly surprised! We ordered the dinners, which came with 2 sides and garlic bread. The beef brisket was delicious - but I LOVED the green beans! The sweet potatoes were good, too...the garlic bread was nothing to write home about, though! (Why garlic bread???) I had enough left to take home for dinner. There are additional bottled sauces on the table should you need more BBQ sauce. We all definitely plan to return!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The real deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I had the Beef/Pork Rib combo and the wifey had the beef brisket. They gave me plenty of each animal and both were nice and smokey, which more than made up for the fact that while good, the sauces didn't blow me away. The beans were the star of the sides but the Potatoe (Dan Quayle spelling) Salad and Slaw were also just fine. Being a Corn Bread connoisseur, l thought their 'muffin' was dry (grillin' it's killin' it). My wife liked her brisket but l thought it wasn't as smokey as the ribs were.

To: Brushfire - it's good but there's room for improvement - don't grill the CawnBrey - work on a smokey, Memphis style (HINT of mustard) sauce - joint is a little too loud for folks to talk. And you might wind up BBQing your competition!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brushfire BBQ Co East also viewed

 

Been to Brushfire BBQ Co East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brushfire BBQ Co East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.