We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sky Bar
536 N. 4th Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
520-622-4300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 61 Nightlife in Tucson
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Accidently uploaded a logo, please disregard it as I cannot remove it for some reason.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Great Bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Pretty great bar with a unique astronomy theme. Dancing here can be a lot fun too! It's also quite roomy inside compared to other bars and there are large tables that are quite convenient for bigger groups of people. Also the pizza right next door is some of the best in town (same owner)!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love going here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My friends and I don't like the "bar scene" very much, but we love going here. Sky Bar is a fun place to just hang out or dance when they have the dance floor open.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaymas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Skye bar - 100% solar powered. God only know what power telescope in the outside area - I saw the surface of the Moon and the rings around Saturn.
Great choice of ale. Good beers. Cider on tap. Pool tables.
It was open mike night when we were there - Highest quality open mike night i've ever seen. Excellent Pizza ordered in the bar& delivered in from next door.
Great decore - moving images of the sky at night on big screens. Nice vibe. Quite studenty - I felt a bit old, but not enough to feel out of place.
Awesome - In the true sense of the word. V. Cool.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Did the sky got barred in the sky bar ?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Coming from the UK and attending the ASEA astronomy convention on the weekend of 2012 Nov 11/12, the Sky Bar had been advertised to be astronomy related with featuring life views of the night sky by their telescopes on the roof. When we got out of the cab however, we thought to be at the wrong place as there was no astronomy at all. The pub was crowded, with a sports broadcast projected onto screens, and it all looked a bit rough. After finding out that even the beer was not tasty as well, we left the place after five minutes. It was quite an anticlimax towards our specifications and I wonder how the bar can be advertised as astronomy related when there was no astronomy at all ? The homepage of the bar just awakens wrong expectations. Surely, it was cloudy when we visited and the European beer taste may differ from the American one, but there was no hint at all that we were in an astronomically themed bar - just the logo at the door proved we were not at the wrong place at all.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Careful on the advertised specials !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Bar is fine enough with pool tables, an outside seating smoking area and free music nights but don't fall for the advertised pizza specials at the pizza place next door (same owners?) they seem to have some agreement going where they will bring the pizzas over to you. We responded to an add for a $9.21 cheese pizza. When we ordered it the girl refused saying we needed a coupon. Then when i returned with the coupon she didn't physically take it. So what was that all about ! And no where on the coupon , i noticed later, did it say "with coupon". Just rude. I know dealing with customers can be tuff. But for a place to spend money on advertising to bring in customers and then be rude to them is kind of , well, expensive advertising . We won't bother going back. Many friendlier places to go too in this great town!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sky Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sky Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.