We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, accomodating wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Bagels of Tucson

Save Saved
You added Bed and Bagels of Tucson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bed and Bagels of Tucson
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10402 E. Glenn St., Tucson, AZ 85749   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
Somerset, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming, accomodating wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

What a wonderful find! We are birders and so is Sharon. She helped us find a birding area where we were able to add Life Birds to our list. She communicated with us all along the way before we even left for our trip and before we got to her home making sure we would be well taken care of. She offered the use of the hot tub, helped us find a restaurant for supper, called ahead to be sure they'd treat us well, and had dessert waiting for us when we got back. Her personality is wonderful and she has had such an interesting life that it was a joy to sit and chat with her. I was getting homesick for my dogs back home but her little dog, Levi, was such as sweet loving dog, he helped with that. Sharon is very attentive to detail. She keeps her animals sequestered in case people would have allergies or just don't want animals around. Her home and surroundings are beautiful and the traffic isn't heavy so it's easy to get around. I would definitely recommend staying with her, especially if you are into birding but even if you aren't. She treated us like family. The Bagels part of her name doesn't really cover what breakfast is like. We were asked the night before what we wanted in the way of the main dish and had our choice of beverage, bagels, toast and our choice of jellies or things to put on them. She prepared fresh fruit plates for us. When we stayed at other Bed and Breakfast places, we very seldom saw our hosts. They were clearly a business. Sharon is a caring individual and made us feel like she was looking forward to our visit, like we were old friends, not strangers. Her price is very reasonable. Don't miss it if you have a chance to stay here. Carolyn & Jeff

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

sharon is a volunteer for many efforts in the tucson community including audubon (birdwatching), friends of the sabino canyon (hiking), etc. she is also a world traveler. she has vast knowledge of what tucson has to offer and world destinations and travel. we travel annually for an event in tucson in march and our chihuahua travels with us. he is most welcome in sharon's home. her neighborhood is quiet and very conducive to a morning walk or run, in march that is, in arizona! when you sit at her breakfast table you have one of arizona's most beautiful mountain ranges hovering over your view, the sierra santa catalina! you are out in the rural part of the old pueblo so you are close to hiking, mountain biking, birdwatching, photography areas. sharon offers a hearty, healthy breakfast, with choices. we have stayed near the event and stayed at sharons. the drive is worth the quiet, accomodating stay at sharons. personal service, privacy in your room, or a chance to interact with other guests are your choice. sharon provides a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed for several days in mid-February, along with my parents, and we all loved the experience. Sharon is a great resource for anyone interested in exploring Tucson, most especially hiking and/or birding - we were able to go on a hike in Sabino Canyon with Sharon, who was a font of knowledge, but you can also see so many birds just by watching her feeders, or taking a walk near the house. And we appreciated being able to experience a lot of different things that Tucson offers, and then come home to a comfortable house in a quiet and peaceful neighborhood, and pet the dog and cat and put our feet up and read, or have a jacuzzi. There's a refreshments table set up at all times for snacks and drinks, and a hearty breakfast every morning. Now we feel like we have a friend to visit and stay with if we come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coxsackie, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Sharon went out of her way to hook us up with a local hiking group and gave great dining recommendations. She had the hot tub warmed up and ready for us as soon as we asked. Unlike a traditional B&B this is more like being welcomed into someone's home as a special house guest. She shared great ideas for places to go and contacts for future trips. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Staying at this beautiful B&B is like staying with family, but even better! Sharon goes out of her way to welcome you in her home and thinks of those small things that are extra special. Not only are her accommodations clean, cozy and comfortable, but Sharon is the most valuable part of staying here. As others have mentioned here, Sharon is an excellent tour guide and expert on the Tucson and surrounding area. She helped us (and even went with us as a guide) to several outdoor adventures, which included a spectacular hidden treasure of a trail. Even more notable is how welcomed she makes your pet feel. We traveled with our dog and she welcomed her like she was one of her pets. This was a real treat because we felt comfortable leaving from time to time because we knew Sharon even offered to take her out for us and let her play with her own pets. Definitely a must-stay for pet owners and outdoor enthusiasts. Her house is in a peaceful, quiet rural-like area and you will have the opportunity to see wildlife right outside the door. Oh, and the breakfast was top-notch each morning. Left you full for half the day. I can't say enough about this B&B that would do it justice, so you just have to stay for yourself!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buelach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Sharons hospitality is amazing. I enjoyed her beautiful garden (with hammock and swimming pool!), the hole house, the conversations with her and the people she connected me with, as well as the quiet time I had for myself. I can highly recommend that place for everybody: hikers, bikers, animal friends and for persons who look for an oasis to have a rest. I wish you a wonderful time there - as I had :-)

Room Tip: Every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I discovered Sharon when I was seeking a chemically free place. Unlike most B&Bs, bed and bagels is run more of the servos model like a home stay. Guests can hang out in the big open kitchen and have the run of the house. If you want privacy, no problem, just let Sharon know. Conveniently located for hiking in Sabino Canyon and other hiking destinations. she's a fascinating woman and knows Tucson in and out. My daughter lives in Tucson and we're now part of a large friendship circle.

Room Tip: We like the king size room with ensuite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Bagels of Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Bagels of Tucson

Address: 10402 E. Glenn St., Tucson, AZ 85749
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bed and Bagels of Tucson 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At this pet- and children-friendly Bed and Breakfast, you'll enjoy full use of a casually elegant desert- and mountain-view home, pool and hot tub, choice of exotic or familiar 5-course breakfasts, recreation and sightseeing planning assistance for adults and children, and thoughtful accommodations for kids, dogs, and cats. Extensive information for birdwatchers. Suitable for most chemically sensitive (MCS) guests...This is a home away from home, not a hotel ormotel. Lovingly run by psychologist and volunteer naturalist Sharon Arkin, Bed and Bagels reflects Sharon's passion for international travel, good food, the out-of-doors, and art collecting. Available for guest use: Kitchen, laundry room, separate refrigerator, computer for checking email, wifi, extensive library, bicycles, binoculars, birding & hike guidebooks, games and toys, TVs and VCRs/DVD player, CD and tape players, and record player with vintage LP records. Fenced yard for dogs. Six foot safety fence protects children from pool and hot tub. Litter box for visiting cats. Patio and barbecue grill for outdoor dining; hammock, lounges and gliders for relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Bed and Bagels of Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Bagels of Tucson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.