We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tucson Symphony Orchestra

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tucson Symphony Orchestra
2175 North Sixth Ave, Tucson, AZ
520-792-9155
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 133 Activities in Tucson
Type: Symphonies, Theater & Concerts
Attraction details
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Exceptional musicians, skillfully selected performances, lots of heart and humor when appropriate. Even non-lovers of classical music enjoy it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tucson Symphony Orchestra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We attended the POPs series for a few years but then the shows got repetitive and we cancelled our membership. Will return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good music at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We've been to a half-dozen concerts over the last year...even the ones that we don't come home raving over we always have a good time. Last night's pops concert with 3 Broadway vocalists was superb--TOTAL ECLIPSE OF THE HEART and the PHANTOM numbers gave us shivers! Christiane Noll and Rob Evans were outstanding voices, with range, control, dynamics, and expression galore. Oh, we're both musicians. So, pops concerts--great fun. Orchestral concerts-outstanding!

Fine acoustics, even in the very back row...only complaint--when the doors are open those last rows are DRAFTY.

It's sad to see empty seats--even the dance spectacular with Anna Trebunskaya had a number of available seats. Too bad, folks, ya missed a fun eve! Ditto last night--the Broadway stuff was just dynamite, but there were scores and scores (probably 200 or so) seats just begging to be warmed!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good regional orchestra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have had season tickets here since the eighties, but I think that this current conductor plays too much new stuff, and not enough of the more familiar pieces. Wonderful music hall, good acoustics, nice orchestra, supported by the community. Parking can be a problem and the lots are currently eight dollars, if you can get into one. There are also a lot of traffic isssues downtown right now, January 2013, so allow time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Masterworks series fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

the quality of the TSO is great. I enjoy the concerts so much! I love that they have other concert series around the Tucson area in churches and schools making it so easy to attend a performance. Wonderful guest artists Thank you TSO and Maestro Hanson!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tucson Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Tucson Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucson Symphony Orchestra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.