We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucson Symphony Orchestra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tucson Symphony Orchestra

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tucson Symphony Orchestra
2175 North Sixth Ave, Tucson, AZ
520-792-9155
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 177 Attractions in Tucson
Type: Symphonies
Attraction Details
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tucson Symphony Orchestra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We attended the POPs series for a few years but then the shows got repetitive and we cancelled our membership. Will return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good music at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We've been to a half-dozen concerts over the last year...even the ones that we don't come home raving over we always have a good time. Last night's pops concert with 3 Broadway vocalists was superb--TOTAL ECLIPSE OF THE HEART and the PHANTOM numbers gave us shivers! Christiane Noll and Rob Evans were outstanding voices, with range, control, dynamics, and expression galore. Oh, we're both musicians. So, pops concerts--great fun. Orchestral concerts-outstanding!

Fine acoustics, even in the very back row...only complaint--when the doors are open those last rows are DRAFTY.

It's sad to see empty seats--even the dance spectacular with Anna Trebunskaya had a number of available seats. Too bad, folks, ya missed a fun eve! Ditto last night--the Broadway stuff was just dynamite, but there were scores and scores (probably 200 or so) seats just begging to be warmed!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good regional orchestra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have had season tickets here since the eighties, but I think that this current conductor plays too much new stuff, and not enough of the more familiar pieces. Wonderful music hall, good acoustics, nice orchestra, supported by the community. Parking can be a problem and the lots are currently eight dollars, if you can get into one. There are also a lot of traffic isssues downtown right now, January 2013, so allow time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Masterworks series fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

the quality of the TSO is great. I enjoy the concerts so much! I love that they have other concert series around the Tucson area in churches and schools making it so easy to attend a performance. Wonderful guest artists Thank you TSO and Maestro Hanson!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding orchestra experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This wonderful regional Orchestra presents really fine classical music in a fairly good listening space, and all at a fair price. If you love classical (or even Pops), try this out.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tucson Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Tucson Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucson Symphony Orchestra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.