We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Mission” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Xavier Plaza

San Xavier Plaza
Tucson, AZ
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 122 Attractions in Tucson
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Benson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mission”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I went with some friends to this Mission. The church building is very beautiful inside and out. We were there in March so the weather was pleasant. There are several gift shops on the property that have many hand made items for sale. I believe that most if not all of the hand made items are made by native Americans. My friends and I enjoyed browsing all of the shops and looking at all of the beautiful things that were there. This Mission is still operating so they ask that you respect the worship times.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Must see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I hit the wrong button. The Mission is beyond excellent. It is a must visit on a trip to Tucson. Take a free docent tour between 9am and noon every day but Sunday. Its a beautiful and fascinating place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Make sure you are here before 5pm and possibly bring tennis shoes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This Church is spectacular. We have seen many cathedrals and were amazed by the quality and craftsmanship of this church when it was made. The church closes down at 5pm sharp and if you want there is a hill/mini mountain next to the church that you can walk up that gives amazing views. There is also a rocky top that you can climb up with a large white cross at the top, very neat experience.
There are locals in the parking lot selling handmade goods and the local traditional Frybread. It's a thinner version of a funnel cake but with a different honey, something to try at least once. Eat like a local........

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The San Xavier Mission is a sight to see. The church is very old and has a lot of statues and carvings.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not many vendors but fun little spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I liked that no one was pressuring you to buy. The best part of the plaza was talking with Joe Begay, the silversmith (one of his many talents) about his acting career. He shared his photo album with us.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Xavier Plaza also viewed

 

Been to San Xavier Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Xavier Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.