We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy sushi in the desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Cortaro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sushi Cortaro
8225 N. Courtney Page Way #141, Tucson, AZ 85743
(520) 572-8668
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #443 of 1,727 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yummy sushi in the desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We ate at Sushi Cortaro for the third time on this past weekend and again were delighted with the meal. The sashimi "bridge" presentation was fun and tuna/salmon/yellowtail/albacore delicious. It comes with a Dragon Roll, salad and miso. My husband ordered seaweed salad and another roll and between all these we had a feast. My sister, who doesn't eat sushi, enjoyed the tempura and chicken yakitori. The location in a strip mall is unexceptional, but the food has been fresh and really good. A real treat for those on the NW side of Tucson, near Marana! Carryout is an option too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Mediocre food at best, horrible service... Did I go to the same restaurant as the other reviewers?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Th only 2 good things about this restaurant were its proximity to the Omni Golf Resort, and the presentation of the food. However, the ingredients used were sub par and the service was atrocious. I seriously qustion if the two servers waiting on us were under the influence of something...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bynum, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another excellent sushi restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This apparently family-owned restaurant offers lunch and dinner, and it specializes in the "new style" sushi - paper on the inside. Their food is excellent, although the menu is limited to the more common types (no blowfish). They have achieved the perfect middle ground between the "sushi buffet" style and the high-end connoisseur sushi restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fresh fish, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have been eating here since it opened. The food and service are consistently excellent. The fish is always fresh, the salmon always has that buttery delicious texture (that's a good thing for me). One of the top two sushi restaurants in Tucson. Yes I know Tucson and sushi aren't a seemingly good combination but having had sushi all over Ca and HI, I know a good place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have tried many different sushi restaurants in town but once I discovered Sushi Cortaro I will not go anywhere else. Best food, best atmosphere and best service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sushi Cortaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Cortaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.