We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giant portions!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Cafe

Canyon Cafe
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Canyon Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,684 restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N Kolb / Sunrise
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Giant portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had both breakfast and lunch at the Canyon Café, and the food was delicious! the portions are very generous, that I recommend splitting a dish.

We had the breakfast buffet the day we left, the food was really good, but the waiter and a few servers setting up the buffet were a bit rude.

Overall, very good food; and fantastic views of the Mountains.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    55
    9
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawkins, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The food is good. Great portions, great atmosphere, great view of mountains and pool area while eating. I had to take food to room. Couldn't eat it all. Fajtas are a must!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Blues, Brews & BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Definitely check out the Blues, Brews, and BBQ on Sundays. The food options are incredible - whether you want to have breakfast or lunch - no one could possibly go home hungry!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Huge Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went for brunch for Father's Day. It was a very relaxing and filling event. I am glad that I went with people that had been there before. The food stations are scattered all around the place - it is almost like a scavanger hunt when someone comes back with a plate and you have to go find where they got that item. When you walk in, the desserts are there by the host stand. They were great. Next to it is the seafood bar with big, tasty shrimp, oysters and mussels....and a lady making Bloody Marys to order. We sat inside near the typical brunch foods.......made to order omelettes, eggs, waffles, salads, and sushi. Close to there was a section of high end cheeses and sliced meats. Next to that was a kid's section with fries, chicken tenders and coloring books and crayons. If that wasn't enough, outside they are grilling - there are ribs, sonoran hot dogs, prime rib, pork tenderloin, salmon. There are beans, spicy mac and cheese, cornbread and grilled vegetables and fruit. The grilled asparagus and carrots and grilled watermelon were my favorite. There were two things that impressed me most about this event. First our waitress......while the mimosas and beer were free and they kept filling the glasses, we ordered iced teas. My brother isn't a big flavored iced tea person and that is what they served. Our waitress noticed it and brewed him plain iced tea - lots of it. Usually for brunch you don't think of the waitress doing much, but these went out of there way. The second thing was the Executive Chef, Ken Harvey watching over the brunch. You could tell he was proud of the brunch and that people were happy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Expensive for what is served.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The service was excellent, but the cost, even at a resort, was a bit
over priced. Also, check the hours the Canyon is open.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Canyon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.