We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Restaurant with Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Cafe

Canyon Cafe
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Canyon Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 1,748 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N Kolb / Sunrise
United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Nice Restaurant with Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had breakfast at the Canyon Café during our stay at the Loew's Ventana Canyon Resort. Our server was Monica, who by far is one of the most professional servers I've ever encountered. I love servers who use full sentences, no slang and speak clearly and show confidence. Monica was all that and more.

My husband had a sausage, mushroom & cheese omelette that he liked. I had the healthy turkey hash breakfast. Though I enjoyed the taste, it was a little dry, as ground turkey can be. I would have preferred that it wasn't so pulverized, it should have been chunkier and would probably have not been so dry, but none the less, it was good.

It was very quiet while we were there, which was nice. Plenty of coffee and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    21
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
“Patio Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Impeccable service and 'dang, this is SO good' food. The patio service (complete with umbrella) made it that much better.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have been going for Sunday brunch for a while, this Sunday was outstanding, excellent experience, loved the new Bloody Mary section and cheese selections, we always have very good service but today was outstanding, we would be back !!! and we will request "Jc, alyan and jc made us feel spoiled, outstanding and professional experience , congratulations on been so good on selecting your staff!!!!
Keep those ribs!!! The best in town ...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a celebration lunch ( by request of the birthday "girl")...Everyone cleaned their plates! The order of Crispy Grouper w/mashed potato, artichoke, spinach & tomato butter was the most $, but serving was generous, and so good, not one speck was left! The Chef's Tasting Plate with 3 menu items was great! Butternut squash soup, Heirloom Wilcox Tomato salad & Avocado Tacos! (I had the shrimp stuffed chilies with pancetta & cilantro soy, absolutely great! The waiter cautioned they could be spicy/hot, but I was fine! (I do like spice) A 3 dessert tasting plate was brought out to the guest of honour with birthday wishes written in chocolate - with spoons for all to share! (Best cheesecake - light and tasty w/ red wine poached figs. Vanilla creme brûlée with a shortbread biscuit, and brownie bites, all accompanied with fresh berries. Staff was gracious and friendly. We were ready to stay on for dinner! Not the cheapest lunch in town, but definitely one of the best!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A dining delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The setting is perfection . The wait staff is attentive. The food beautifully prepared and presented. The ambiance is soothing .I liked the decor too.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canyon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.