We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quirky theatre with a dedicated clientele” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Loft Cinema

The Loft Cinema
3233 East Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85716
+1 520-795-7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 26 Fun & Games in Tucson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted BEST OF TUCSON every year since 2002 by readers of the Tucson Weekly, The Loft Cinema is a mission-driven, membership-supported nonprofit cinema that screens new independent American and foreign films and documentaries, along with classic art films, interactive events including a monthly short film contest, sing-a-longs and cult favorites. Patrons can enjoy beer, wine, pizza, tamales along with fantastic films. The main theatre seats 500 people and boasts the largest screen in Southern Arizona. In addition to our regular programming, The Loft hosts an annual international film festival in the fall and a free children's film festival every July. The Loft is a member of the Sundance Institute's Art House Project, based on our excellence of programming and service to the community. In 2012 The Loft was selected to be an official venue of the Sundance Film Festival in their Sundance USA program and we have hosted a screening direct from Sundance with the filmmakers every year since. The Loft is one of 7 American cinemas to be a collaborating partner with Film Forward: Advancing Cultural Dialogue in 2012, an honor The Loft also enjoyed in 2011.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“A quirky theatre with a dedicated clientele”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Tucson has plenty of big movie houses and this one cinema dedicated to those interesting, quirky little films that aren't necessarily the big booming loud speaker type. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed; the patrons are dedicated. Check the movies out and give it a try.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    29
    9
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“New theatre building is a nice addition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The main theatre is huge. Upstairs in the main building is a more intimate theatre. The newest addition, a building next door that is accessed via a nice walkway, is a nice upgrade. If you want to see those special films, this is the place to go. Plus, you can purchase beer and wine at the snack bar and take it into the theatres.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, NM
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cinema Smorgasbord”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

As residents of a modest size southwestern city with a single screen art house that changes weekly, a visit to the Loft on our periodic trips to Tucson is like the difference between eating from a hot dog cart and a full blown smorgasbord! Because of the multiple screens and the varied daily programing, we invariably find something of interest to see that stands NO chance of coming to the regular movies and isn't even likely to make it to our local art house because of their limited schedule.

Tucson is lucky to have this independent cultural gm

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great theater for thought provoking movies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I love that Tucson has a non-profit theater that shows the kinds of movies that we like. Foreign films, small indie films and things that would never make it to the big theaters but are well worth seeing.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tucson Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I love The Loft - as do most movie lovers who live here. They have a great selection of films, guests, and interactive events. A great sense of community here at The Loft, too. Although I loathe the 21st century habit of yelling/heckling aloud in comedic fashion at EVERYTHING that happens on screen - I can put up with it at The Loft, because The Loft is just that special.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Loft Cinema also viewed

 

Been to The Loft Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Loft Cinema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.