We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin walls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Catalina Inn to your Saves list
Catalina Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   15691 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85739-9111   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Athabasca, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Thin walls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Nice Inn but the big drawback is the paper thin walls that mean you hear pretty much everything that is going on in the room next door whether you want to or not. Believe me we did not and wished we had earplugs. The staff are helpful and friendly. Free WiFi and a free hot breakfast which was very good. The rooms are nicely appointed with coffee maker, hair dryer, fridge, microwave and iron & ironing board. The price reflected the amenities. The big drawback of this Inn is the thin walls. Given any other choice we will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs to deal with the paper thin walls in case of loud hanky panky in the room next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry H, General Manager at Catalina Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
We would like to thank you for staying with us during your visit to the Tucson area. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while staying with us regarding the thin walls. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our new breakfast. We hope you will return to our hotel and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
9
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, OR
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are like me and have retired parents living in one of the many, many retirement communities in Oracle/Catalina (norther Tucson) then you may sometimes travel with more individuals than your folks can accommodate. Well, when that happens, this hotel is virtually the only option that is close to everything. It's a basic hotel, the rooms are clean and the pool area, while kind of small, is also very nice. Since it's been built, the hotel has changed management a few times at least (it used to be a Best Western at one point, but no longer is). Again, for the location adjacent to many of the northern Tucsons retirement communities this hotel is definitely worth the cost of staying there. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean and the staff is nice. If you want Five Star then stay at one of the many resorts in Tuscon all many miles from the norther retirement areas and much, much more expensive. Or, stay at this place, where you won't break the bank for a few nights or a week stay, there are TONS of restaurants and stores, most within walking distance and a nice staff. I suggest this place to anybody looking to find a place to stay in Oracle/Catalina.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry H, General Manager at Catalina Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
On behalf of the Catalina Inn staff we would like to thank you for staying with us during your visit to Tucson. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our third year staying at the Catalina Inn. Rooms are beautiful, breakfasts are wonderful and conversation with the proprietors, Mark and Paul, is always enjoyable. It's kind of a home away from home for us when we visit the December 4th Avenue Street Fair. Central Tucson location, gracious hosts and sweetly comfortable accommodations.

Room Tip: Favorite room is upstairs, west side. Nice balcony off the room over the desert gardens. Sit out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

After staying here for the Tucson Marathon, I felt it was necessary to write a review. This place is on par for a basic motel, but has loads of extras. Free breakfast...not Continental and free wi-fi, which the big hotels charge big bucks for it. The room had an iron, ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, fridge (which wasn't stuffed with things to purchase) you could actually use, and a microwave. Bed was comfortable and there were many little sitting areas out near the parking lot. Small pool but since it is December, didn't try it out ;). The view from the hotel was spectacular of the nearby mountain range.

Drawbacks would be the thin walls. We did hear people walking above and toilets flush. Fortunately most everyone there this weekend were there for the race, so no loud hank-panky. Pillows were very small and seemed to have seen better days.

The hotel worked with the marathon staff so they were on the shuttle line. If we do the marathon again, we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry H, General Manager at Catalina Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
On behalf of the Catalina Inn staff we would like to thank you for staying with us during your visit to Tucson. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The rooms were a great value. We had 4 rooms all close to each other (as we had requested) which was really nice that they really paid attention to our request to be near each other. The continental breakfast was so deluxe! They had so many choices even for our kids who can be picky eaters. Great service too! Thank you!! We were there for a race and it was close to the race for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

When I read that this hotel was in the Catalina Foothills, I thought that meant northern Tucson/south side of the Catalinas. Instead, it is on the north side of the Catalinas, at least 10 miles north of where I thought it would be. My bad for not looking more closely at a map. I wouldn't even call this "Tucson." It's north of Tucson, north of Oracle, in a blink-and-you'll-miss-it burb called Catalina. It's relatively convenient to Catalina State Park, but horribly out of the way for just about everything else the area has to offer (unless you're among the few who find Biosphere 2 interesting). The room itself was fine--it was clean, the bed was comfortable enough. But the property's east/west orientation can't take advantage of the mountain views to the southeast. If you have the bad luck of having a room on the west side of the property, enjoy the view of the storage facility next door. Another huge disadvantage of the boondocks-esque location is an appalling lack of restaurants. The Italian place that the hotel clerk recommended was out because I didn't see anything appealing on its menu that didn't have gluten in it. There's a McDonald's, a BBQ place, and a couple of Mexican restaurants. While the rates for this Best Western are considerably lower than its in-town sisters, just under $100 (including tax) is a ridiculously high price for a hotel with so little to recommend it.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for a room on the east side/front of the hotel. If that is not an option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mechanicsville, MD
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We were spending the week up in Sedona, but decided to stay overnight in Tuscon to see it thoroughly. This hotel is north of Tuscon, which seemed like a nicer area than in town. There
is one of most every restaurant you would want within 3 miles. (except Panera bread, oddly).

Since we were there only 1 night, I cannot speak to any of the amenities - our room was fine and roomy - did not notice any noise, but then how many people were there in the middle of January?!

So--no complaints.

Room Tip: no elevator - so get a first floor room if stairs are an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Inn

Address: 15691 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85739-9111
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Catalina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Catalina Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.