We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of extras” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Catalina Inn to your Saves list
Catalina Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   15691 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85739-9111   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 131 Hotels in Tucson
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of extras”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

After staying here for the Tucson Marathon, I felt it was necessary to write a review. This place is on par for a basic motel, but has loads of extras. Free breakfast...not Continental and free wi-fi, which the big hotels charge big bucks for it. The room had an iron, ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, fridge (which wasn't stuffed with things to purchase) you could actually use, and a microwave. Bed was comfortable and there were many little sitting areas out near the parking lot. Small pool but since it is December, didn't try it out ;). The view from the hotel was spectacular of the nearby mountain range.

Drawbacks would be the thin walls. We did hear people walking above and toilets flush. Fortunately most everyone there this weekend were there for the race, so no loud hank-panky. Pillows were very small and seemed to have seen better days.

The hotel worked with the marathon staff so they were on the shuttle line. If we do the marathon again, we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry H, General Manager at Catalina Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
On behalf of the Catalina Inn staff we would like to thank you for staying with us during your visit to Tucson. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reno
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The rooms were a great value. We had 4 rooms all close to each other (as we had requested) which was really nice that they really paid attention to our request to be near each other. The continental breakfast was so deluxe! They had so many choices even for our kids who can be picky eaters. Great service too! Thank you!! We were there for a race and it was close to the race for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renorands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

When I read that this hotel was in the Catalina Foothills, I thought that meant northern Tucson/south side of the Catalinas. Instead, it is on the north side of the Catalinas, at least 10 miles north of where I thought it would be. My bad for not looking more closely at a map. I wouldn't even call this "Tucson." It's north of Tucson, north of Oracle, in a blink-and-you'll-miss-it burb called Catalina. It's relatively convenient to Catalina State Park, but horribly out of the way for just about everything else the area has to offer (unless you're among the few who find Biosphere 2 interesting). The room itself was fine--it was clean, the bed was comfortable enough. But the property's east/west orientation can't take advantage of the mountain views to the southeast. If you have the bad luck of having a room on the west side of the property, enjoy the view of the storage facility next door. Another huge disadvantage of the boondocks-esque location is an appalling lack of restaurants. The Italian place that the hotel clerk recommended was out because I didn't see anything appealing on its menu that didn't have gluten in it. There's a McDonald's, a BBQ place, and a couple of Mexican restaurants. While the rates for this Best Western are considerably lower than its in-town sisters, just under $100 (including tax) is a ridiculously high price for a hotel with so little to recommend it.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for a room on the east side/front of the hotel. If that is not an option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank momsroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mechanicsville, MD
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We were spending the week up in Sedona, but decided to stay overnight in Tuscon to see it thoroughly. This hotel is north of Tuscon, which seemed like a nicer area than in town. There
is one of most every restaurant you would want within 3 miles. (except Panera bread, oddly).

Since we were there only 1 night, I cannot speak to any of the amenities - our room was fine and roomy - did not notice any noise, but then how many people were there in the middle of January?!

So--no complaints.

Room Tip: no elevator - so get a first floor room if stairs are an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karensquirkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Why you should stay here: it's cheap and you can stay with your dogs. ALL other cheaper Tucson motels are waaayyyy worse! Trust me! But this place is not that hot. My number one complaint would be listening to sex from the neighbors'. I really thought someone was playing a practical joke it was so theatrical-- but unfortunately it was disgustingly real. When we checked out, we were walking away from the desk when I asked my husband if he'd gotten my $100 cash pet deposit back. "No". We returned to the desk and requested our money back. The clerk at the desk reluctantly went to check the room for damage, finding none, I got my $100 back-- but what if I forgot!!!!

Room Tip: I dunno...ask for the room where you don't hear people having sex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank expectgreatthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Where to begin well in general the hotel is very nice but the only complaint I have is if you don't want to listen to your neighbors having sex well then do not stay here the bloody walls are so paper thin it is not even funny I can here the neighbors in the next room talking at even normal levels but the rest of my stay other than that was fine . bed was great , shower was great , front desk staff ( Jade ) was fantastic she was so polite and accomodating i was she worked for me

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglasrankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, TX
Level Contributor
188 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We stayed one night this past week at the Catalina Inn and enjoyed our stay very much. The room was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Staff was great with an easy check-in. We chose this location for a visit to Saguaro National Park. The only very minor complaint is that we had asked for a 4:00 a.m. wakeup call (in order to get some sunrise photos of Saguaro); but did not get the call until 5:00 a.m. It was not that much of an inconvenience though. The location was nice, clean, comfortable, quiet and a bargain for the price- couldn't ask for better. No hesitation in recommending this one and we will definitely stay again on our next visit to Tucson.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tucson
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North
10.8 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
12.2 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
7.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley
2.6 mi away
Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Inn

Address: 15691 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85739-9111
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 131 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Catalina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Catalina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Catalina Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing