We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't forget the $100 cash deposit!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Inn

Save Saved
You added Catalina Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalina Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   15691 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85739-9111   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't forget the $100 cash deposit!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Why you should stay here: it's cheap and you can stay with your dogs. ALL other cheaper Tucson motels are waaayyyy worse! Trust me! But this place is not that hot. My number one complaint would be listening to sex from the neighbors'. I really thought someone was playing a practical joke it was so theatrical-- but unfortunately it was disgustingly real. When we checked out, we were walking away from the desk when I asked my husband if he'd gotten my $100 cash pet deposit back. "No". We returned to the desk and requested our money back. The clerk at the desk reluctantly went to check the room for damage, finding none, I got my $100 back-- but what if I forgot!!!!

Room Tip: I dunno...ask for the room where you don't hear people having sex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
9
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary AB Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Where to begin well in general the hotel is very nice but the only complaint I have is if you don't want to listen to your neighbors having sex well then do not stay here the bloody walls are so paper thin it is not even funny I can here the neighbors in the next room talking at even normal levels but the rest of my stay other than that was fine . bed was great , shower was great , front desk staff ( Jade ) was fantastic she was so polite and accomodating i was she worked for me

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, TX
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We stayed one night this past week at the Catalina Inn and enjoyed our stay very much. The room was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Staff was great with an easy check-in. We chose this location for a visit to Saguaro National Park. The only very minor complaint is that we had asked for a 4:00 a.m. wakeup call (in order to get some sunrise photos of Saguaro); but did not get the call until 5:00 a.m. It was not that much of an inconvenience though. The location was nice, clean, comfortable, quiet and a bargain for the price- couldn't ask for better. No hesitation in recommending this one and we will definitely stay again on our next visit to Tucson.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

Check in with Ashley was great. I asked for a quiet room, having read earlier reviews. She assured me there had been no recent complaints about noise. The room was acceptable, spacious and clean. As expected except for the noise. Obviously constructed with no sound-dampening, every sound travels. I literally could hear the couple next door. Sorry about your grandma, Amy.
I thought about asking for another room, but what would be the point?
Formerly a Super 8, I think. This property was built on the cheap and is not up to even BW standards. "Business centre" was a PC in the lobby in working order. SLOW WiFi

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed here for one night in July en route from Phoenix, taking an alternative route towards the Tuscon area avoiding the interstate and with no set plan. Though a bit far out of downtown Tuscon it was a good stopping place to overnight and get a feel for the locations of the state/national parks. We found the staff very polite and helpful, our room very clean, breakfast above the average. A place we would stay again.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We chose this hotel to be close to the kids' grandparents. We would return to this location again although there are newer hotels popping up along the Oracle Road corridor all the time so hopefully the price will go down in the future. We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. The most upbeat employees were the housekeeping staff, followed by the front desk personnel, and even the groundskeeper was friendly if you spoke enough Spanish. The pool wasn't heated and it was shaded by early afternoon so it became uncomfortably cold even in the Tucson heat in the middle of the day. Our room, with a great view of the Catalinas, was on the small side, having 2 queen beds crammed into it along with an overly large desk. The breakfast had decent choices - the kids loved the waffles - and there are cereals, pastries, fruit, bread, bagels and even hard boiled, shelled eggs. Overall this was a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

We chose this hotel due to it's locationear my in-law's home in Oro Valley. We stayed for 4 nights in March 08. My brother in-law and his family & my sister in-law also stayed there at the same time for our family gathering. Very poor sound buffering, I heard every toilet flush and shower run on the ground level, in addition to multiple "conversations" from our "neighbors". + Roaches in our room, I ws able to kill one, the other one got away. Upon our check-out we were given a reciept that stated our credit card would be charged approx $387.00. When I checked our credit card charges, our pending charge from "Motel 8" was over $425.00. I called the hotel for clarification, the woman asked if I were "my brother in-law's name", my first clue that something bad had happened with the billing. She was unable to figure our was happened so i asked to speak with the manager. He was too busy "going to a meeting" to address my concern at that time, but did call me back later. He attempted to explain the elevated bill due to "your credit card company does this on purpose while the bill is pending"!!! I called my credit card company and of course they don't do this. I called the Best Western corporate "customer service" number and although the young man listened to my situation, he then called the manager and then told me exactly what the manager had told me earlier. When I told him that my bill was not elevated by my credit card company, he did nothing. I called my brother in-law whose bill happened to be the same $387.00 charge although they had 4 people staying. How much do you bet that they switched the charges on us because we have the same last name? And then instead of confessing to the error, they are trying to bs their way our of it?

  • Disliked — roaches, noise, billing problems
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catalina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Inn

Address: 15691 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85739-9111
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Catalina Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Catalina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Catalina Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.