We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Party Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilko

Wilko
943 East University Boulevard, Tucson, AZ
(520) 792-6684
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #290 of 1,684 restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Party Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Right on the edge of the University and a very popular place for both locals and visitors. The food was tasty - we had burgers and beer. Their desserts were great - we had Key Lime Pie and Cheesecake. Prompt service and good decor. Would go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    11
    16
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lose the bartenders with attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a great space in a fantastic location, but the bar service is really average. The night we were there they were training a bar tender.... great we need well trained bar tender but not at the cost of great service , it took 15 minutes to get our first drink and another 10 to get our second. The drinks were served in tiny vintage stye glass ware, which for $8.00 was as rip off. The worst thing about this was the way they were served to us. The bartender was more concerned about the way to hold a cocktail shaker than actual customer service. Great charcuterie selection, but I found the rest of the menu a bit patchy. The owner also owns B line and Time Market, so afeter this experience I think we will revise them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson Arizona
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
1,044 helpful votes 1,044 helpful votes
“Have been most reluctant to review this place !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We buy Season's Tickets to Centennial Hall each year, and attend 15-20 events there. "Joel's Bistro" used to be open evenings for dinner, and we had some lovely pre-show dinners there. About 3 years ago, Joel stopped dinner service, and after trying just about every restaurant in that area, we finally, gave up and ate dinner at home.
Then, "Wilko" opened, and we LOVE that place. It's so wonderful when you can drive to the University, park your car, have a relaxed dinner and then cross the street to attend the show! Problem is that more and more people are discovering "Wilko", and it's getting harder and harder to get in. You really have to arrive at least 2 hours before showtime to get a seat. We always get the same thing --------------Romanina Pizza ($17) to share plus a bottle of wine. Not a long wine list, but the ones they have are interesting and reasonably priced. AND.........if you get your wine order in before 6 p.m., the bottle is 30% off. That pizza is so good and filling that we often even have to leave a slice behind. Still, we love desserts, and their Salted Caramel Tart is so good that no matter what, we share one and savor every bite!!!
We love the food, we love the atmosphere, but service can be "iffy". We have had bad service, and we have had great service. I don't believe that we've ever had the same server twice in all the times we've been there. The manager (greets you at the door and tries to make your wait as pleasant as possible) has great customer service skills. Unfortunately, many of the staff do not. The place looks like it could be extremely noisy, but, surprisingly, it is not. No difficulty ever in carrying on a conversation, no matter where we sat. The lighting, the food, the crowded bar, mob of people, the crowded counter in the back, all contribute to the atmosphere. We feel energized every time we leave that restaurant.
That is why I have been reluctant to talk about this place. Maybe next time, we will need to arrive 3 hours before our concert to get a table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“One of my Favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Allright...I will admit it. I am not ony a French Frie addict, bit a French Frie afficionado.
I was told by a Begiun companion aboard SEABOURNE QUEST, that French Fries are not French, but Belgiun in origin; the creation of a brilliant man who wanted his potatoes cut and fried to fit into perfectly proportioned bites with his deliciously fresh fried herrings..."et viola" !! Genius.
Well, I have travelled in Europe a lot, in Paris a lot, and WILKO has THE BEST truffle fries of any that this afficionado and addict has tried in the land of French Fries.
The restaurant has a casual, cool vibe to it; right on the busiest corner of the U of A commercial core.They have great salads, sandwiches, soups and yes...the to die for truffle fries!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

As a large group we voted on Wilko for a total of 3/6 dinners. The drink menu is devine and my co-wokers raved about the wine selection and prices. Food was delicious and had perfect portions.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilko also viewed

 

Been to Wilko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.