We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW- What a great lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curry Leaf

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Curry Leaf
2510 East Grant Rd, Suite 100, Tucson, AZ
(520) 881-2786
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #461 of 1,584 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“WOW- What a great lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

OK, when you first walk in you might wonder if you should stay. The atmosphere leaves a lot to be desired, there may only be one or two people eating, it is very small....... Each of those thought went through my mind as well, but I took a chance several months ago and am so glad I did. The food in outstanding! I was told they use nothing but fresh ingredients, and believe that to be true. I have been there several times and the lamb curry is my current favorite. My friends have all tried different things there and everyone agrees on the Curry Leaf whenever we are looking for a great lunch at a great price. (It's hard to beat a $5.00 lunch menu) You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland Heights
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Certainly a surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We tried this restaurant and were pleasantly surprised. Not a lot of atmosphere, not a large place, not a great location, but the food and the service was good and at a good price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bland but expensive food & drab ambiance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Tried Curry Leaf instead of our usual Sher-e-Panjab (located just 5 min Drive west) for a change + availability of Dosas (which are not offered at Sher). Terribly regret the decision.

Food was very bland (we ordered medium spicy-which we usually order at Sher), half the portion size AND more expensive than Sher-e-Panjab!!!

Ordered for take out. So couldn't really experience the service or the ambiance per se. But, even for the short while stepping into pick up the food, saw that their ambiance was drab, dated and dark- not at all inviting. The short but service at the cashier though, was ok and polite.

Not going back nor recommend anyone else. Sher-e-panjab will give you much, much better taste + value (not the buffet though) for good Indian food. And if you want better ambiance too, try Saffron Bistro up north.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

While on a shopping trip to Tucson my wife and I happened on a small Indian restaurant called the Curry Leaf. What a surprise, it wasn’t much on decor, but the service was good and the food was superb. We had the vegetable thali with palik paneer, it was the best I’ve ever had. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoita, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stopped in for lunch over the weekend. Had 3 different spicy lunch specials. All were good, portions were fine, service was great. Not a fancy place, no "atmosphere", but that wasn't what we were looking for. Good value, good food & good service. Enjoyed it very much!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Curry Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curry Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.