We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of E. European home cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polish Cottage

Polish Cottage
4520 E Broadway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85750
+1 520-777-5407
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 1,684 restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Polish
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The best of E. European home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We've eaten here twice and the food is an absolutely superb example of the very best Polish home cooking brought to you in a restaurant. The dishes are classic Eastern European: pierogies (filled dumplings), beet soup, schnitzel, potato pancakes, etc, the difference is they are prepared to perfection- this is what you will eat in the home of an old Polish grandmother who is cooking for her family. My wife is from the former Soviet Union, and the food is a return to her childhood...only, she says, way better. Our kids polish (no pun intended!) off a plate of 10 pierogies with ease, and their deserts are delicious and authentic. The beverage selection includes wines from Poland (don't miss the honey wine or cherry liquer) as well as others from Romania, Bulgaria, and Hungary...awesome wines that are nearly impossible to find.

We drive from out of state to eat here...and it's worth it. This is exactly what an ethnic restaurant of "peasant food" from the old country should be.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    47
    24
    6
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Polish cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous authentic Polish food, great service and ambience. The cabbage rolls, pierogies, hunters stew, and sausages were amazing. Will definitely come back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of Poland off Broadway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I have eaten here twice, once for dinner and once for lunch. We plan to try their breakfast next! It is a small, quaint little place decorated very nicely as though you were in a little restaurant in Poland. The food is wonderful and authentic, presented very well and the service very friendly and attentive.
Sylvie was our server the first time and took very good care of us. We both had the Breaded Pork Cutlet, with mashed potatoes and a cucumber salad, along with one of their cold Polish beers. We had the warm Apple Cake for dessert and it was the best!
Our next visit was on a Sunday and had hoped for breakfast but we were too late. Tatiana served us that day and answered lots of our questions about the place. We both had the potato pancakes with sour cream and apple sauce. They were delicious! Next time we will hit the breakfast at the right time. Both times the place became busy after we had arrived. Most were first time visitors it seemed so it is attracting folks to come on in.
This is a hidden gem right off Broadway and you have no idea what is inside until you step through the door. It is very clean and attractive the food is good and reasonably priced so you can't go wrong. It has been open for a little over a year and we hope they stay for a very long time!
We might even have their warm Apple Cake for dessert with breakfast!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Small, but Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This small restaurant was a nice place to lunch to celebrate a birthday. People loved the Pickle Soup and the Beet Soup. Thee is a nice assortment of pierogis...I suggest getting the carmelized onions with them. The Stuffed Cabbage was very good - and a large portion. Th favorite dessert was the cheesecake- dense, delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

From the outside this appears no better than a truck stop in a strip mall. Inside is a a recreated Polish Cottage,hence the name.Good service,good food,cold beer and a nice menu.Went for lunch.Wife had stuffed cabbage,I had the Polish Plate ( lunch size).1 cabbage roll,3 periogis,sausage,hunters stew,roll and Polish beer.Nice lunch!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polish Cottage also viewed

 

Been to Polish Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polish Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.