We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk Unbelievably Rude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Lodge and Casitas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Posada Lodge and Casitas to your Saves list
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5900 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #65 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Front Desk Unbelievably Rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I called to make a reservation at La Posada because I would be attending a 5-day workshop there in March. The "gentleman" taking the reservation was unbelievably rude. He flat out refused to honor the group rate negotiated by the event coordinator. I actually had to give up because he was so uncooperative. After hanging up, I took a few minutes to regroup, then called again, hoping to get someone else. No such luck. He was borderline abusive on the phone and it took the caterer to intercede before I finally got the reservation at the group rate I'd been quoted. I was so distressed by this treatment that I decided to make a reservation at a different hotel and cancel my reservation at La Posada (especially after seeing other reviews about staff rudeness). When I called a week later to cancel my reservation, I was put on hold (same guy) for almost 10 minutes, while I listened to their lovely recording about how I can expect that great Southwestern hospitality when I come to stay at their wonderful hotel. I hung up and called back and the guy didn't even say anything this time -- he just put me back on hold. I called a third time before finally being able to cancel the reservation, and he refused to give me any sort of confirmation (a code, an email --anything) that would confirm he'd really cancelled it. This guy is a real piece of work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    20
    9
    13
See reviews for
37
50
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peeples Valley, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed 2 days in one of the Casitas. Heater had only hot or off. Had to turn off to sleep because of the heat and no blanket on bed. No fan in restroom, need I tell you how that smelled throughout the room. As we were leaving and I picked up the "comment card" and noticed there was a breakfast offered, no information was given to me when checking in or in the room. We will never stay at this place again!!

Room Tip: Make sure check in person gives you written hotel services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in Casita #1 over the Christmas holiday 2012. The room was clean and comfortable but a bit dated and funky. The grounds are beautiful and the pool was fun, it was heated and the kids really enjoyed swimming outside in December.

We were disappointed with the breakfast, it was drinks (coffee, tea, juices) and prepackaged muffins, nothing hot to eat.

Overall, it was a good value and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Casita #1 has the server for the rest of the casitas. At times, the fan was a bit loud. I would as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Here is what we liked: the beds, the pillows, the pool and the hot tub. Grounds were clean, room was reasonably clean and the front desk help is wonderful. Big ol' new flat screen TV but of course, crappy cable input.
This is not a cheap motel and they advertise breakfast with the room rate. The first time we stayed they gave us a coupon to stroll next door to the Hampton for a hot breakfast buffet. It was great. This past weekend the "breakfast" was in a small room off the lobby. It consisted of orange water, coco puffs or lucky charms, white bread and the winning touch? Coffee, but No cups. you were welcome to drink it out of you coco puff bowl. Incredible.
Our son goes to school in Tucson, we will be frequent visitors but will look for another place to stay if the breakfast deal isn't worked out.

Room Tip: Parking lot level rooms are a little nicer.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It was once great. Yes, has character, and the remains of original decorative SouthWest extravagance. Those were the days, long ago, when the sheets and towels were new and the rollers on the patio doors still worked. Modern touches have been added, small microwave works if you just keep pushing the start button, and a mini fridge which really works: froze all of our food. Service seems to be a one man show, but he was friendly and worked hard. It seems this is a place for the economy choice on tour selections, but note there are no discounts. But, hey, if you are from back east and want to play out west, go for it, it's not a chain. Note: There are dogs. The grounds are well kept but very small to share with large dogs. Best thing there: Magnificent specimens of rock and minerals. Dont miss the framed photo above mantle in the lobby. If available the casita is worth the extra. Note, handicap rooms do not have balcony. Night shy is magnificent with the city in the far distance and the dark Tucson night sky has stars, so get a room with a balcony door that opens.

Room Tip: Casita does not have road noise but will have outdoor "music" until about 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were there for a wedding and we wanted to have more space and the casita offered the space we wanted with the small kitchen type area. There was a queen sized bed and then a fold out couch. It was close to the pool and the restaurant. The breakfast is a joke, coffee and packaged danish & muffins. So basically it is not breakfast! The food was very nice at the restaurant but they did not serve breakfast. The price was great as we were there just before the rates went up. It is a bit warm as the AC is placed in the wrong place had to move the night stand for better air flow...and open the door in the back at night. Would stay again if ever in Tucson again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was a lovely surprise. The hotel has such character, with hand painted bathroom sink, hammered head boards, lovely big balcony, free wifi - nice hot breakfast and best of all the swimming pool. Really pretty, large, deep with a water fall, pretty lights surrounding it. I felt like I was in a resort.

Room Tip: Select one overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada Lodge and Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Lodge and Casitas

Address: 5900 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Lodge and Casitas 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Posada Lodge and Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Lodge And Casitas Hotel Tucson
La Posada Hotel And Casitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Lodge and Casitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.