We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value but Don't count on Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Lodge and Casitas

Save Saved
You added La Posada Lodge and Casitas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5900 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #72 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Value but Don't count on Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in Casita #1 over the Christmas holiday 2012. The room was clean and comfortable but a bit dated and funky. The grounds are beautiful and the pool was fun, it was heated and the kids really enjoyed swimming outside in December.

We were disappointed with the breakfast, it was drinks (coffee, tea, juices) and prepackaged muffins, nothing hot to eat.

Overall, it was a good value and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Casita #1 has the server for the rest of the casitas. At times, the fan was a bit loud. I would as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    45
    19
    9
    12
See reviews for
33
45
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Here is what we liked: the beds, the pillows, the pool and the hot tub. Grounds were clean, room was reasonably clean and the front desk help is wonderful. Big ol' new flat screen TV but of course, crappy cable input.
This is not a cheap motel and they advertise breakfast with the room rate. The first time we stayed they gave us a coupon to stroll next door to the Hampton for a hot breakfast buffet. It was great. This past weekend the "breakfast" was in a small room off the lobby. It consisted of orange water, coco puffs or lucky charms, white bread and the winning touch? Coffee, but No cups. you were welcome to drink it out of you coco puff bowl. Incredible.
Our son goes to school in Tucson, we will be frequent visitors but will look for another place to stay if the breakfast deal isn't worked out.

Room Tip: Parking lot level rooms are a little nicer.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It was once great. Yes, has character, and the remains of original decorative SouthWest extravagance. Those were the days, long ago, when the sheets and towels were new and the rollers on the patio doors still worked. Modern touches have been added, small microwave works if you just keep pushing the start button, and a mini fridge which really works: froze all of our food. Service seems to be a one man show, but he was friendly and worked hard. It seems this is a place for the economy choice on tour selections, but note there are no discounts. But, hey, if you are from back east and want to play out west, go for it, it's not a chain. Note: There are dogs. The grounds are well kept but very small to share with large dogs. Best thing there: Magnificent specimens of rock and minerals. Dont miss the framed photo above mantle in the lobby. If available the casita is worth the extra. Note, handicap rooms do not have balcony. Night shy is magnificent with the city in the far distance and the dark Tucson night sky has stars, so get a room with a balcony door that opens.

Room Tip: Casita does not have road noise but will have outdoor "music" until about 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were there for a wedding and we wanted to have more space and the casita offered the space we wanted with the small kitchen type area. There was a queen sized bed and then a fold out couch. It was close to the pool and the restaurant. The breakfast is a joke, coffee and packaged danish & muffins. So basically it is not breakfast! The food was very nice at the restaurant but they did not serve breakfast. The price was great as we were there just before the rates went up. It is a bit warm as the AC is placed in the wrong place had to move the night stand for better air flow...and open the door in the back at night. Would stay again if ever in Tucson again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was a lovely surprise. The hotel has such character, with hand painted bathroom sink, hammered head boards, lovely big balcony, free wifi - nice hot breakfast and best of all the swimming pool. Really pretty, large, deep with a water fall, pretty lights surrounding it. I felt like I was in a resort.

Room Tip: Select one overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed a few days with our dogs. The room was nice and big -- tile floor and king size bed. The breakfast was next door at the Hampton. Walking next door was ok with me, but the food was horrible. They always ruined the eggs with some kind of meat. The coffee wasn't good. I'm glad that our room had a fridge and microwave, because I couldn't eat the breakfast there.

If it wasn't for the crappy food, I would have given a higher rating. They also need to add Animal Planet to their TV listing. And clean the bugs out of the pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: Try the south rooms on the floor where the parking lot is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

LaPosada has a great location and facade, but that's about all. Our room was suffocating with no opening window and no bathroom exhaust fan. Jose at the front desk is a class act, but that doesn't make up for a poor property

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada Lodge and Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Lodge and Casitas

Address: 5900 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Lodge and Casitas 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Posada Lodge and Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Lodge And Casitas Hotel Tucson
La Posada Hotel And Casitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Lodge and Casitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.