We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, crappy breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Lodge and Casitas

Save Saved
You added La Posada Lodge and Casitas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5900 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #71 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice room, crappy breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed a few days with our dogs. The room was nice and big -- tile floor and king size bed. The breakfast was next door at the Hampton. Walking next door was ok with me, but the food was horrible. They always ruined the eggs with some kind of meat. The coffee wasn't good. I'm glad that our room had a fridge and microwave, because I couldn't eat the breakfast there.

If it wasn't for the crappy food, I would have given a higher rating. They also need to add Animal Planet to their TV listing. And clean the bugs out of the pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: Try the south rooms on the floor where the parking lot is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    44
    19
    9
    12
See reviews for
33
44
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prospect
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

LaPosada has a great location and facade, but that's about all. Our room was suffocating with no opening window and no bathroom exhaust fan. Jose at the front desk is a class act, but that doesn't make up for a poor property

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is our home away from home when visiting family in beautiful, sunny Tucson. We enjoy staying in the ample size casitas, but standard rooms have similar amenities and cost much less. We stayed three wonderful, quiet nights.

Our casita was clean and very nicely decorated in a Mexican theme. The bathroom was large with a walk in tiled shower. The sink was also beautiful and should be seen. Big, thick towels. The bed was comfortable. Coffee maker, microwave, frig., and sink in all rooms.
Magnificent views of the Catalina mountains with the bonus of a beautiful sunrise greeted us each morning while we sipped coffee from our courtyard. Most rooms have either a balcony or courtyard that also have this view. Wildlife and birds are abundant for viewing. The court yard and landscaping is pleasant. The pool and hot tub were clean and very warm, perfect for relaxing on chilly winter days. Towels were always available.

The front desk staff, Christopher and John are friendly and helpful. Upon check in the coffee maker, hair dryer and toilet were broken; when reported they were fixed promptly.

Wii fii is slow, but free. On-site Parking is complimentary, and a shuttle is available if needed. The exercise room Is small, but well equipped.

Banks, restaurants and shopping are within walking distance. Highly recommend Jax Kitchen, 1.8 miles down the road, for a great dinner and Margaritas, not cheap. Chef Alisah’s a GREAT Bosnian restaurant is directly across the street from La Posada; If you like inexpensive Mediterranean food this place is not to be missed! Miguel’s is the on-site restaurant, but we did not eat here because we encountered rude, uninviting, unprofessional service, twice from the bar tender, Randy. A happy hour is offered, but the Margaritas were very sweet and not very strong. We went across the street to another restaurant, Margaritas, for tasty, strong, cheap Margaritas.

The Hampton inn and Suites, there sister hotel, is next door where complimentary breakfast and guest computers are available. Breakfast items are plentiful : Eggs (prepared differently daily), make your own waffles, hot, fresh oatmeal, great coffee, an assortment of teas, milk, juice, cold cereal, biscuits, toast, bagels, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. Yummy!

I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay at La Posada again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This was the third time we stayed at this property and we are totally disappointed. I made the reservations online, using the pictures and descriptions of the casitas to make my choice. Well, what I reserved and what was said about the room were two different things. We were expecting a nice size room wih a full kitchen and we got a tiny room with a microwave. When I tried to get a different room upon arrival, I was told that because we wanted 7 days, they could not acommodate us. Plus, the "free breakfast" is offered next door at the Hampton! So, after 1 night, we are moving to the Hampton. Disgusted with the website at La Posada and even moreso with the inability to make sure we got what we wanted. We will not return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed in the casitas. High speed internet access was archaic. We were told to complain to manager if we wanted to. Kitchen contains a microwave, refrigerator, sink and coffee maker. Not a utensil to be found. No plates, forks and not so much as a kitchen cloth to wipe the counter! There were 2 coffee cups and two small drinking glasses, one of which had lipstick on it. Maintenance was sub-par. The front of the heater/air conditioner loose and flapping.The hot and cold water valves were not fastened to the sink top in the bathroom. Shower valve was backwards, going from hot to cold instead of the correct safer way of cold to hot. Toilet seat was stained and worn. The breakfast was good probably because it was next door at the Hampton Inn. View was spectacular although spoiled in the back because of the filth on the back sliding doors. They appeared to be water stained from improperly aimed sprinklers. "Tucson's Premier Boutique Hotel" is laughable unless you pay to stay there, then the laugh is on you.

Room Tip: Possible that the rooms in the Hotel are better, but the casita we stayed in (C-6) was just plain ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012 via mobile

Nice location for shopping, fairly close to freeway for access to most "tourist" things, good restaurant, Miguel's, is attached to hotel. Only thing to note is that complimentary breakfast buffet is only available at the Hampton Inn next door. All in all, good place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This is our third stay at La Posada and it was better than ever. Previously we stayed two nights and then moved on. We have been here for better than a week this stay as we had much to do in Tucson. The staff, especially the cleaning and breakfast folks were amazing. We were cared for promptly and courteously. It is simply a charming and comfortable place to be. It is not pretentious yet it provided all the comfort we could want.
We felt safe and very much at home. Also of great importance, we have a very well behaved dog who travels with us and is well received wherever we go. She was welcomed here and made to feel most happy. When next to return to Tucson we will stay here at La Posada and will eagerly await our welcome. Thank you staff and management. And golfers, you will overlook a swell golf course that everyone in your group can enjoy. It is the way golf should be played.

Room Tip: Loved our casita
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Posada Lodge and Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Lodge and Casitas

Address: 5900 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Lodge and Casitas 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your La Posada Lodge and Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Lodge And Casitas Hotel Tucson
La Posada Hotel And Casitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Lodge and Casitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.