We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints, well almost.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson to your Saves list
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3855 E. Speedway Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85716   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“No complaints, well almost.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

We just returned from a 7 night stay at the Varsity Club. This place is really an interveral vacation club that rents its units as available. I wouldn't really classify it as a hotel.

We arrived very late at night and had a little difficulty getting in. The floors in the lobby were just waxed so someone let us in the rear entrance. No big deal since that's were we would have parked anyway. The unit was plenty large for a party of 4 adults. Upon entry there was a small kitchen with full sized refridgerator, large counter top toaster oven with griddle, microwave, cooktop, and sink with a variety of cabinents, drawers, counter space, etc. There were plenty of dishes, cookware, and other standard kitchen items. There was a dining table with 4 chairs. In the same room was a sofa, chair, coffee table, end table, and TV on a stand with drawers.

Off the living area was a door onto a small balcony with 2 chairs and a table. That patio also had a door leading to the 2nd bedroom. On either side of the living room/kitchen were identical bathrooms with jacuzzi tubs.

The master bedroom was large and had a king size bed, large closet, tv, and drawers for storage. The french doors lead to a large covered balcony with a table and 4 chairs.

The 2nd bedroom was not quite as large but did have a large closet, tv, and drawers. It also had a king size bed but because the room was smaller it was difficult getting in/out of the bed on the one side. There were plenty of extra pillows and blankets in both rooms. Both balconies overlook the pool and hot tub area.

The bar was usually quiet, even on Super Bowl Sunday, what's with that? Although we didn't use the restaurant we did order from "Joey Pizza". It was edible in a Domino's Pizza kind of way.

There are free laundry facilities (you buy detergent), a pool table, sizable lounge, and minisclue gift shop. The pool is great, the staff are generally helpful, and were always willing to provide whatever we asked for and made any wrong right almost immediatley. For example, when a vending machine failed they bought the product to our room, with an extra freebie. Noise is usually my pet peeve so I am very sensitive to thin walls or kids running in hallways. Maybe it was just our location, but there were not any noise problems. Peeve number 2 are lights at night. Both the balcony door and window had black out drapes that fully closed in the bedroom. Overall the place was pretty good.

As for it's location, Tucson ain't Manhattan, you'll need a car no matter where you stay.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    48
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
31
48
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, MT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2007

We stayed here for one week for a timeshare exchange. We had a room on the 3rd floor, overlooking a very, very busy and NOISY intersection. We requested a different room, but they couldn't find us one until 3 days later. We were told they didn't have any rooms, yet we saw very few people around the complex. We got very little sleep. Also, the heater was the type that the fan ran all the time....adding more noise to our room. We did end up with a much quieter room on the other side of the building. Parking was tight. There were 3 security officers. We would not have felt comfortable walking around after dark. The front desk help seemed to be constantly changing shifts...like every few hours. We never did understand why the need for so much staff. With the automatic opening front doors to the lobby, it made the central bar/grill very chilly during our stay. Seemed terribly early to us for them to shut down at 9 pm. Overall, the rooms were adequate for 2 people. Jacuzzi tub was nice. Every day minimum maid service was a nice touch. Was great to have free laundry facilities.

  • Liked — free laundry facilties on 2 floors, whirlpool tub in room,
  • Disliked — noisy streets, limited menu at bar/grill
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2006

Stayed here as part of hoilday to Arizona. Rooms great, clean and well furnished, staff both welcoming and helpful, pool area quiet and peaceful. Would we return? YES. The only problem was lack of eating places for evening meal in the immediate area. However staff pointed us in the right direction and each place recommended lived up to expectations.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff, rooms comfortable and well maintained, pool area quiet and clean
  • Disliked — visitors not reading well placed notices. i.e no smoking in pool area, children ( when trere being allowed to jump into pull over other guests
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask staff of advice ie eating places and other attractions
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2006

We stayed at the resort during our time share exchange and we were hoping that hotel was going to be located in a good area. The hotel is NOT in the best neighborhood area and lacks security in the parking lots. Our family vehicle was parked outside the resorts parking lot and was vandalized. They removed all four wheels and the hotel could not compensate in any way.. We are submitting a formal complaint to the city of Tucson as well as Interval Exchange for recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2006

My family and I, 5 total, stayed at this hotel at the end of March. I have 2 teenage boys and a young daughter and we all felt that there was plenty of room. The beds are king size and comfy. None of the kids wanted to share a bed, so the staff brought us up a roll away bed which my daughter said was very comfortable. The pool was nice and in the evening there was relaxing music playing over the stereo. Loved the soaps and lotions from Sedona Spa, that was a nice touch. There were jacuzzi tubs in each bathroom and 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, kitchen, and living area in our room. The room was kept very clean by the maids, but the carpet could use a good cleaning. The only complaints I have are that it was a bit noisy in the room since it is located on a busy street in Tucson, but if you turn on the fan or air conditioner, the street noise is no longer audible. The billiard room closes at 9:30 which my boys thought was too early to stop playing. Other than that, we all enjoyed the stay and will definitely stay at this hotel again when we visit Tucson. The whole family agrees that this hotel is a keeper.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2006

I spent one night at the Varsity Club in March 2006. The overall experience was all right, but not quite what I expected, which was probably largely my fault.

First, the hotel's website has a drawing that gives quite a different impression of the facility than the reality. This hotel is located on a very busy street in Tucson. And it is quite a modern place. From looking at the website, I somehow developed the idea that it was something older and with more character. Oh well.

The location has no particular charm, but is good if you're visting the University of Arizona; especially if you're a sports fan. The hotel is decorated in an athletic theme. It's not walking distance to campus (for most people), but it's a short drive. There are the usual assortment of fast food restaurants, movie theatres, and chain stores close at hand, so it's easy to get supplies if you need anything.

Although it's on a busy street, the room was quiet and comfortable. Nothing extraordinary, but clean and very acceptable.

On the first floor there's a bar/restaurant. The service was friendly but slow as the place was understaffed and it took forever to get any service.

A breakfast is available, but you have to pay for it; nothing is complimentary, except coffee.

An internet connection is available for guests in the "den" next to the restaurant's eating area.

Overall, it was an acceptable experience. The hotel doesn't offer much atmosphere, and it was a little too expensive in comparison with its competitors (Comfort Inn, Best Westerns, etc.) But there were no problems, either, and I'd stay there again if I wanted to be close to the University of Arizona.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2005

My husb. and I stayed here Aug 13, 2005. Room 313 is 2 bedroom 2 full bath suite with a patio over looking the pool. Great bathrooms with very large Jacuzi tubs in each. Kitchen was fully stocked with everything you would need for entertaining. Nicely decorated, very private. This is fabulous for a weekend getaway with the family or just for the adults. Wonderful value for the money ( 125.00 ) . Dont miss this well kept secret. Cant wait to go back and share it w/ the kids!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson

Address: 3855 E. Speedway Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85716
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson Hotel Tucson
Varsity Club Of America Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.