We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They stuck us in the handicapped suite” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson

Save Saved
You added Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3855 E. Speedway Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85716   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 35%
Ranked #43 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Phoenix
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“They stuck us in the handicapped suite”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

It was gross, like staying in a hospital room. If I were handicapped, I'd probably have been thrilled. since I am not, I did not appreciate the shower, which did not have an overhead spray, but only a handheld piece that would not spray like a regular shower head. The toilet rocked and had handicapped paraphanalia on the seat, etc which was flipping me out. There was an actual shower chair outside the shower. The tile was old and the grout darkened. The counters in the kitchen were too low because it is set up for a person in a wheelchair so my back wasn't all that happy with it. It was unpleasant and it all had a disgusting and gritty feel to me.

I'm a platinum member with Diamond Resorts. I'm supposed to get good accommodations. I think I got shortchanged because we checked in late. I called corporate, they told me to talk to the front desk. I did not because frankly, the front desk people should have known better and I wasn't in the mood to freak out. It was late.

The room itself was cramped, so I don't know how anybody in a wheelchair could hope to get around. As it was we felt like we were piled on top of each other and this is a two-bedroom unit! There's a sofa bed in the teeny-tiny living room. This is a big failing with Diamond Resorts. they always have these sofa beds and I don't care how expensive they are, they are uncomfortable to sit in for any length of time so that kills available seating in the room. The sofa bed in this room is definitely not expensive, so it's a killer.

There's no dishwasher and no oven in the room. Accommodations are supposed to have kitchen facilities but this one doesn't and we have to handwash dishes. Blech.

The pillows are cheap puffy fiberfill with no give, so real neck killers. Other Diamond properties have higher quality pillows. Had I known, I'd have brought my own pillows. They are stingy with their towels. Only two in the master bath.

This was our first time checking out the Varsity Clubs. The physical plant seems fine. The pool looks pretty, the lobby is nice enough, but I spend my time in the room and this one is godawful. Hey, Diamond! You need to pay attention to these sub-par properties. I'd LOVE for Stephen Cloobeck to suffer a single night in the catastrophe I'm booked into and tell me how this is 'Relaxation...Simplified'.

Room Tip: Better call ahead and let them know you will be late so you don't get punished. There are review...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality, provide premium services, and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us. It was very concerning, after reading your review, that we did not meet these expectations in regard to your recent stay here at Varsity Clubs of America- Tucson. Unfortunately, we were completely booked up on the day of your arrival, and the only available unassigned room that we had available was one of our units that is primarily for use for our guests with special needs. All our amenities in the suites are DRI standards: pillows, kitchen appliances (toaster, blender, coffee maker, and electric can opener), mattresses, the 3 sheets bed setting, throw, skirt, towels and vanity area amenities. In two bedroom units, we place 6 shower towels, 6 pool towels, 6 hand towels and 6 wash cloths per Diamond Resorts standards. We hang two bath towels in each towel rack. The remaining towels are rolled and placed in the closet for guest usage. We do not provide full kitchens (no dishwasher or ovens) in any of our units. The bathroom in the handicap bedroom was recently fixed and replaced two lines of tile in the bottom but it is clean and in good condition. We do realize the furniture is old, but we do try to maintain it as best as we can. Discussions have been made for possible replacement with new furnishings with our Homeowner’s Association. It is our hope that the compensation provided due to your less then desirable experience here will assist in making up for this stay. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay with us will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    42
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
43
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Keep in mind I travelled here in 2011 and just getting around to submitting review. Received a week here as a bonus to trading in my home timeshare. Spent one week in Phoenix, excellent location/facility and decided to try second week in Tucson. Facility is older, kitchen in one bedroom is tiny, couches worn. Bedroom only had a queen bed. Nothing special. Spent most time travelling.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We’re sorry that you were disappointed with the accommodation at the Varsity Clubs of America at Tucson when you stayed here in 2011. We have a rolling program of refurbishment at the resort, and we feel sure that if you returned here, you’d appreciate the changes we’re making!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Clean hotel, very friendly staff and a lot of space in the rooms. Very decent prices, free parking and internet. Maybe the only minus is the location which is only ok, not far from Old town and University ( 10-15 min. by car ). Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms faceing the pool are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

As long as your expectations match this property, you'll enjoy your stay. Expect the usual Diamond resorts' quality and cleanliness, with very nice linens (plenty of nice pillows, towels, etc.), a well equipped mini-kitchen (in the one bedroom), flat screen tvs & DVD players, friendly staff, jacuzzi tub. Don't expect this to be a destination resort, it's on a very busy street in a mixed but safe neighborhood (quiet if you're on the pool side of the building), with no bar or restaurant on site. We know that area of Tucson, so we had a great time, but if we'd just flown in from somewhere with other expectations, might have been a different story. You can walk to places to eat, we walked on Bellevue a block north of Speedway (residential neighborhood), up to the Village Inn for Christmas breakfast, and there's a dim sum place right begin the hotel. Think of this as a souped up motel or small apartment and you'll be about right. Note to management: fluffy robes for trips to the pool and spa would really up the ante here!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Spent three nights here on a recent trip to Tucson. This hotel is located in a convenient location in a very nice area of Tucson. We stayed in a room on the ground floor facing Alverson. Though there is a lot of traffic the noise did not bother us.

We were in a very nice room with excellent amenities. The bedding is top notch with great sheets, pillows and comfortable mattress. The price we paid for this room was quite economical for the quality of this hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone considering a stay in Tucson.

We would definitely stay there again.

My only complaint would be that not all the rooms have high def TV. Though I don't know where they would put a large screen tv in the room we stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at The Varsity Clubs of America. We were delighted to hear that our accommodations, amenities, location, and price met or exceeded your expectations. Your recommendation of our resort is sincerely appreciated by the staff here. We are definitely looking at upgrading the TV’s in the rooms without High definition. In order to proceed with a project of this cost; however, we would need to receive the approval from our Homeowner’s Association. We look forward to seeing you here again soon, the next time you are in the Tucson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We showed up late in the evening, and was greeted by real friendly host(Raul) , He put us up in very nice suite,#224, It was roomy.clean and quiet, the bed very comfy. The whole place was clean and well maintained. The staff were all very friendly,it has a large pool and hot tub, and a decent exercise room.

Room Tip: stay in a suite on 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Do not stay here if you are a light sleeper. Traffic noise from Speedway and Alvernon is horrible! Sirens. Buses. Squeaky brakes. Motorcycles. Ugh. Get an interior room out stay elsewhere. Pool and hot tub above average. Bedding and towels and bed comfort average only. Our tub shower curtain was quite discolored with red mold. Couch was coming apart. Front desk staff super friendly. Also a time share.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson

Address: 3855 E. Speedway Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson Hotel Tucson
Varsity Club Of America Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.