We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson to your Saves list
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3855 E. Speedway Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85716   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 35%
Ranked #54 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Keep in mind I travelled here in 2011 and just getting around to submitting review. Received a week here as a bonus to trading in my home timeshare. Spent one week in Phoenix, excellent location/facility and decided to try second week in Tucson. Facility is older, kitchen in one bedroom is tiny, couches worn. Bedroom only had a queen bed. Nothing special. Spent most time travelling.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We’re sorry that you were disappointed with the accommodation at the Varsity Clubs of America at Tucson when you stayed here in 2011. We have a rolling program of refurbishment at the resort, and we feel sure that if you returned here, you’d appreciate the changes we’re making!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    45
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
31
44
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Clean hotel, very friendly staff and a lot of space in the rooms. Very decent prices, free parking and internet. Maybe the only minus is the location which is only ok, not far from Old town and University ( 10-15 min. by car ). Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms faceing the pool are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

As long as your expectations match this property, you'll enjoy your stay. Expect the usual Diamond resorts' quality and cleanliness, with very nice linens (plenty of nice pillows, towels, etc.), a well equipped mini-kitchen (in the one bedroom), flat screen tvs & DVD players, friendly staff, jacuzzi tub. Don't expect this to be a destination resort, it's on a very busy street in a mixed but safe neighborhood (quiet if you're on the pool side of the building), with no bar or restaurant on site. We know that area of Tucson, so we had a great time, but if we'd just flown in from somewhere with other expectations, might have been a different story. You can walk to places to eat, we walked on Bellevue a block north of Speedway (residential neighborhood), up to the Village Inn for Christmas breakfast, and there's a dim sum place right begin the hotel. Think of this as a souped up motel or small apartment and you'll be about right. Note to management: fluffy robes for trips to the pool and spa would really up the ante here!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Spent three nights here on a recent trip to Tucson. This hotel is located in a convenient location in a very nice area of Tucson. We stayed in a room on the ground floor facing Alverson. Though there is a lot of traffic the noise did not bother us.

We were in a very nice room with excellent amenities. The bedding is top notch with great sheets, pillows and comfortable mattress. The price we paid for this room was quite economical for the quality of this hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone considering a stay in Tucson.

We would definitely stay there again.

My only complaint would be that not all the rooms have high def TV. Though I don't know where they would put a large screen tv in the room we stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at The Varsity Clubs of America. We were delighted to hear that our accommodations, amenities, location, and price met or exceeded your expectations. Your recommendation of our resort is sincerely appreciated by the staff here. We are definitely looking at upgrading the TV’s in the rooms without High definition. In order to proceed with a project of this cost; however, we would need to receive the approval from our Homeowner’s Association. We look forward to seeing you here again soon, the next time you are in the Tucson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We showed up late in the evening, and was greeted by real friendly host(Raul) , He put us up in very nice suite,#224, It was roomy.clean and quiet, the bed very comfy. The whole place was clean and well maintained. The staff were all very friendly,it has a large pool and hot tub, and a decent exercise room.

Room Tip: stay in a suite on 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Do not stay here if you are a light sleeper. Traffic noise from Speedway and Alvernon is horrible! Sirens. Buses. Squeaky brakes. Motorcycles. Ugh. Get an interior room out stay elsewhere. Pool and hot tub above average. Bedding and towels and bed comfort average only. Our tub shower curtain was quite discolored with red mold. Couch was coming apart. Front desk staff super friendly. Also a time share.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Pros - Nice pool area - clean large suites w/mini kitchen - free morning coffee & tea - free wi-fi
Cons - Not within walking distance of much - no oven or dishwasher in the unit - no restaurant on site or within walking distance (unless you count McDonald's across the street)

This is a cross between a time share/condo and a hotel. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson

Address: 3855 E. Speedway Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson Hotel Tucson
Varsity Club Of America Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.