We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson

Save Saved
You added Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3855 E. Speedway Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85716   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 35%
Ranked #31 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Guelph
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

What a gem! Clean clean clean. Great staff, couldn't do enough for us. Very plush feeling to this resort with the foothills and palms in view. Wonderful courtyard with pool, spa and practice golf greens. There was always maintenance staff cleaning. Cappacino/tea machine for a hot cup anytime. Plush towels, extra large towels for the pool. Tuck shop. Desk staff available 24/7. Can't say enough about how great this place is.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms and those along the front could be noisier than the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We’re really glad to read that your vacationat the Varsity Clubs of America at Tucson was an enjoyable and memorable one! Our staff endeavour to deliver The Meaning Of Yes® to all guests, and we’re pleased to read that they were able to offer you all the assistance you required during your stay.

We hope that you’ll choose to come back to the Varsity Clubs of America, and we look forward to being of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    37
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
40
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, Alabama
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The rooms were clean and spacious and the desk clerk helped us plan things to do for our entire stay. As we left to go to Payson AZ for two days we asked another desk clerk if there was anything we should see on the way and she gave us a great recommendation right off the road on the way. I'd gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us! Our team members pride themselves on being knowledgable about the area and are always more than willing to share that knowledge with our guests. We're glad that this team member helped make your stay memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have been staying at the Varsity Club for quite some time. I love the place very much. It is always a joy to stay.
I come down there to see my grandson and it is central to his world. Everyone at the hotel is very nice. They make my stay very nice.
The only tthing I didn't like is that the resturaunt and bar are closed. It was nice to be able to just stay on the property.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

While searching for an apartment for my soon-to-be-UofA-grad-student daughter, we stayed at Varsity Clubs of America. We were very pleasantly surprised with VCA's accommodations. We had a suite style room with a kitchenette, living room, free laundry facility, free parking, pool, fitness club, and more. The staff is very helpful and friendly (but not the weird, fake friendly). The AC unit in the living room area (there's a unit in the bedroom also) wasn't functioning correctly, but wiithin minutes maintenance was there to install a new unit.
Varsity Club suited our needs perfectly. It's a short drive to the UofA campus and is in the area of where my daughter was looking to live. And our room had a beautiful view of the mountains!
We paid $75/night which I consider a very good value for all the amenities. If my daughter ends up renting a one bedroom apartment, we'll be staying at VCA when we visit Tucson in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We spent three nights in a one bedroom suite here during our Tucson vacation. This is a marvelous hotel, with all of the amenities we needed, and the price is very reasonable. It is conveniently located to the attractions around Tucson. I had no problem with external noise, but we were in an interior room. The rooms are spacious, everything is clean and in great working condition, the staff is friendly and helpful. Overall, it was a great experience and I would come back here in a heartbeat. The only downside was that the pool and deck are closed for cleaning on Wednesday mornings when we wanted to go for a swim. There is nothing posted about this regular closure, so we were a bit surprized and had to change our plans for that day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not front on Speedway Blvd
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Upon arrival we noted it was at a very busy intersection, and asked for an inside room when checking in. Told no, they were full. I asked about the noise on the street side and the lady clerk said she had never had a complaint. Well, who knew motorcycles were so popular in Tucson! And one roared by at least every hour all nite. Was almost like it was in the room.
They should offer ear plugs...be sure and bring some it you stay there. Other than being awakened every hour, the place was quite nice.

Room Tip: Call ahead and get a room on the inside or West side over the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My sister and her significant other were pleased to find a place so close to my house where I live in Tucson, so it would be almost like staying with me, only with more room and their own bathroom! .They were able to trade a timeshare week to stay in a one-bedroom suite and thought the room was adequate however, the rooms on the street side of the building need better sound-proofing windows. When I visited them, I was astonished at how you can hear every single car roll by, and when it's raining, the wet tires can sound like a frieght train! The hotel sits at the corner of two very busy streets with noise all night. They asked to be moved to an interior room the morning after the first night, and every day after for the rest of their stay, and although front desk staff assured them they would look into it, nothing was ever done, and the staff seemed to never remember that they had made the request the day before. The little "store" inside the hotel did not even sell earplugs. They enjoyed the location, it is close to many restaurants and the University, but both of them were exhausted and needed a vacation after their sleepless stay at Varsity Clubs in Tucson.

Room Tip: ask for interior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson

Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson Hotel Tucson
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson Hotel
Varsity Hotel Of America
Varsity Club Of America Tucson
Address: 3855 E. Speedway Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.